UPDATED: MARCH 14, 2023 | 3 MIN READ
Car insurance isn’t required in New Hampshire unless you have violations on your driving record. New Hampshire car insurance laws state drivers must meet certain financial responsibility limits. We’ll walk you through New Hampshire car insurance laws and their requirements.
New Hampshire car insurance minimum requirements
The minimum requirement in New Hampshire for auto insurance is 25/50/25 in liability coverage. That means:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 in property damage liability
Not all drivers are legally required to have a car insurance policy. Drivers only have to prove they’re financially responsible in the event of an accident. Drivers aren’t required to have uninsured motorist (UM) coverage or personal injury protection (PIP) coverage.
Liability coverage in New Hampshire
Just because you’re not required to have car insurance doesn’t mean it excuses you from any responsibility if you’re at fault in an accident. Car insurance is important even if you don’t need it to protect yourself in case of a car accident.
The minimum coverage in New Hampshire isn’t enough to cover major damages or injuries if you cause an accident. An accident resulting in surgery, hospital stays, or extensive rehab quickly uses your 25/50 liability insurance.
Liability insurance in New Hampshire protects the other driver, their passengers, and their car. It doesn’t protect you from damages or injury that comes out of pocket.
State-mandated auto insurance limits you should know
The maximum amount your insurance provider pays for a claim is known as an insurance limit. Each state determines these. The limits are split into three categories: bodily injury per accident.
Bodily injury per person and property damage. The minimum in New Hampshire is listed as 25/50/25. It follows:
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person that your insurance coverage pays for a single person you injure in an auto accident.
- Your insurer pays $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident for all injuries caused in an accident in which more than one person is hurt.
- $25,000 in property damage per accident that your insurer pays for damages that you cause in an accident.
Are New Hampshire minimum requirements providing enough coverage?
No, the state minimum doesn’t provide ample coverage. New Hampshire doesn’t require motorist coverage which puts you and other drivers at risk. The minimum liability coverage might not be enough.
If you’re responsible for injury to another driver, their medical bills might exceed your bodily injury liability limits. You would have to pay the remaining balance out-of-pocket.
New Hampshire doesn’t require coverage for your motor vehicle. That means you might be left without a vehicle. Increasing your coverage or adding extra coverage might be ideal to ensure you’re fully protected.
Penalties for driving without proof of insurance in New Hampshire
New Hampshire state laws don’t require car insurance, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t any penalties for uninsured drivers. This includes:
- Requirement of SR-22 insurance
- License and registration suspension
- License and registration revocation for repeat offenders
- Restoration fees that reach up to $100
- Driving privilege suspension
New Hampshire optional car insurance coverage
New Hampshire auto insurance providers offer different coverage options. These are the coverage options available:
- Rental car reimbursement: If you’re unable to drive your vehicle because it was damaged in an accident, your coverage pays for a rental car while it’s being fixed.
- Comprehensive coverage: This covers physical damage to your vehicle in the event of theft and non-collision damage.
- Collision coverage covers physical damage to your vehicle due to a collision.
- Roadside assistance: It’s coverage that protects you on the road due to breakdowns with flat tires, towing, and dead batteries.
- Loan/lease payoff: Gap coverage pays the difference between what you owe on the loan and your car’s actual cash value.
Why it’s important to follow New Hampshire car insurance laws and requirements
Car insurance in New Hampshire isn’t mandatory, but protecting you and your assets is crucial. Increasing your current insurance limit or adding additional coverage is recommended to ensure costs are covered.
How much does the minimum car insurance cost in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire car insurance costs depend on a variety of factors. These include where you live, your driving history, age, credit score, and the vehicle you drive. The cheapest car insurance is with USAA at $204 yearly, but it’s only available to military members. The second cheapest is Amica Mutual at $304 yearly.
Cheapest minimum liability car insurance in New Hampshire
Below you’ll find the cheapest auto insurance in New Hampshire by company.
|Commerce Group Inc||$26|
Minimum car insurance requirement in New Hampshire when leasing a car
In New Hampshire, most leasing companies require drivers to have full coverage auto insurance with a minimum of 100/300/50. To get an exact estimate, it’s best to contact your financial leasing company.
It’s always a good idea to get full coverage insurance with 50/100/50 limits. There are 6.1% of drivers in New Hampshire are uninsured. If an uninsured driver hits you, you might not have enough coverage.
What is the best car insurance company in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire has a lot of great insurance providers depending on what your priority is, whether that’s price, excellent customer service, or coverage options. The best rates for car insurance are from USAA, and Amica Mutual.
Why should I get car insurance if it’s not required in New Hampshire?
If you’re in a financial position that allows you to pay out thousands of dollars in the case of a serious accident, you might not need it. If you don’t have savings, car insurance is a good idea. Even if it’s not mandated by law, New Hampshire drivers are responsible for any damages following an at-fault accident.
Do you need car insurance to register a car in New Hampshire?
Car insurance is not required in New Hampshire. So, you don’t need car insurance to register a car in the state.
What is “basic” car insurance in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire state laws require drivers to fulfill motor vehicle financial responsibility requirements. The minimum liability limits are 25/50/25, which means that you must be able to cover $25,000 in bodily injury per person, up to $25,000 in property damage, and $50,000 per accident.
Does insurance follow the car or driver in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire car insurance follows the car and not the driver. That means your insurance covers the costs if someone borrows your car and gets into an accident. This includes coverage such as comprehensive, collision, and bodily injury liability.
Get Coverage That Meets New Hampshire’s Car Insurance Requirments
Car insurance isn’t mandated in New Hampshire, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t benefits to having it. Purchasing cheap car insurance through a licensed auto insurance carrier has never been easier. Ensuring you have the protection you need is essential.
If you’re ready to purchase cheap auto insurance in New Hampshire, compare insurance quotes by contacting different companies to ensure you’re getting the best deal. We have a helpful tool to find the best car insurance.