Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In New Hampshire


WRITTEN BY: Julia Matseikovich

UPDATED: DECEMBER 09, 2022 | 3 MIN READ

New Hampshire is the only state in the United States that doesn’t require drivers to have car insurance. However, you’ll need it if you’re convicted of driving offenses. 

If you’re a high-risk driver, you must have auto insurance, and if caught without it, you’re likely to lose driving privileges. Having liability coverage ensures you have the protection you need.  

Penalties for driving without insurance in New Hampshire

Driving without insurance in New Hampshire includes your registration and license suspension, fines, and SR-22 requirements. Auto insurance coverage isn’t mandatory, but you must prove financial responsibility by depositing money with the state treasury if you don’t have auto insurance. Below are the penalties you might face when driving without insurance.

Type of OffenseLicense and/or Registration Suspended?Jail TimeSR-22 RequirementsMaximum Fines
No Proof of Insurance (Can Prove Coverage)

No


No


No

Dismissed with proof
1st Offense With No Coverage
Yes, both

No

Yes
$125 to restore license & registration
Repeat Offense (No Coverage)
Yes, both

No

Yes
$125 to restore license & registration

License and/or registration suspensions for the type of offense

A first-time offense won’t land you in hot water, aside from a minor fee. The fee is dismissed if you can provide proof of insurance. Repeat offenses earn you a license and registration suspension.

Jail time for each type of offense

In New Hampshire, there is no jail time, regardless of how often you get caught driving without a license. In New Hampshire, you only need insurance if you have violations on your record. However, your license is suspended, and you might face jail if caught driving without a license.

SR-22 requirements

You don’t require an SR-22 certificate if it’s your first offense in New Hampshire. If it’s a second or third offense, you must get SR-22 insurance as you’re considered a high-risk driver. 

Your insurance provider must file an SR-22 with the New Hampshire DMV. To get your registration and driver’s license restored, you must pay a $125 fee.

Fines and fees for each type of offense 

If you’re required to have car insurance for your motor vehicle but aren’t able to show proof of coverage, you face fines of up to $125. That’s the cost of getting your driver’s license and registration reinstated.

Appealing fines

If your license is suspended, state laws allow you to appeal the decision by requesting an administrative hearing within ten days after the accident report is made. 

In preparation for the trial, New Hampshire drivers need to purchase a driver report record from the New Hampshire department of motor vehicles (DMV) for $15.

New Hampshire auto insurance minimum requirements for insurance

The minimum insurance coverage in New Hampshire is 25/50/25. Minimum insurance covers liability and medical payments for drivers involved in an at-fault auto accident. It’s not required, only suggested. This means:

  • $25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability
  • $1,000 medical costs (MedPay)

Additional coverage options are available through car insurance companies, such as collision and comprehensive offer protection but aren’t required. These are add-ons to your insurance policy that protect you from damage to your vehicle.

Avoiding license suspension after an accident

If you have satisfied the judgment, you can reinstate your license and registration by getting a valid auto insurance policy. You’ll also need to ask your insurer to file SR-22 insurance.

Proof of insurance must be submitted to the court along with receipts that you paid reinstatement fees, including a $100 license/operation privilege fee and a $25 registration privilege restoration fee.

Your SR-22 filing needs to remain for three years, provided you don’t commit any more violations on your driving record.

Scenarios when you can still get insurance in New Hampshire 

Uninsured

You’re not required to get car insurance in New Hampshire. So, uninsured motorists don’t face penalties. You must have proof of insurance if you’re required to have car insurance.

High-Risk

You must have car insurance if you’re a high-risk driver in New Hampshire. The best car insurance rates are with Concord Group, which has a rate of $964 after a crash.

The most expensive insurance provider in New Hampshire is Allstate and Progressive.

Driving someone else’s car

If you drive someone else’s car without insurance, it’s not illegal. Non-owner car insurance protects you if you borrow someone’s car regularly. 

Non-owner coverage is available if you need to reinstate your driver’s license or rent or borrow cars regularly. Insurance companies such as Amica, Allstate, Progressive, State Farm, and Concord Group offer non-owner car insurance.

FAQs

Can you get car insurance without a license?

There are small local insurers that offer car insurance without a license. To get auto insurance without a driver’s license, you must exclude yourself as a driver on the insurance policy and list a licensed family member or friend as the primary driver.

How much is car insurance in New Hampshire?

The average New Hampshire car insurance premium in the United States is $1,674 yearly. New Hampshire drivers pay $1,274 for full coverage, including comprehensive or collision coverage.

Is New Hampshire’s suggested minimum coverage of 25/50/25 enough?

Insurance providers typically suggest you purchase more than the minimum liability coverage. If you’re in an accident, medical expenses or vehicle damage adds up quickly. You’ll have more peace of mind with collision and comprehensive coverage.

How long can you be without car insurance?

In New Hampshire, you’re not required to have car insurance to drive a motor vehicle. If you have violations on your driving record, you need to have the minimum coverage, including the following:

  • $25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability
  • $1,000 medical costs (MedPay)

Is New Hampshire a no-fault state for car insurance?

You’re not required to have car insurance coverage. New Hampshire is a fault state meaning that at-fault motorists who are uninsured or underinsured are held liable for the damages and injuries they cause. 

Victims of negligent drivers must prove they’re not responsible for the accident to pursue compensation for personal injury.

How to get New Hampshire insurance after you’ve been caught driving without it

Purchasing New Hampshire car insurance through an auto insurance provider is simple. You’re not required to have auto insurance in New Hampshire but if you want added protection, minimum coverage, such as bodily injury liability coverage, and property damage, is essential.

If you’re ready to find New Hampshire car insurance, compare rates by calling around to ensure you get the best car insurance quote. We have a helpful tool to find the best car insurance.