Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In Wisconsin


WRITTEN BY: Julia Matseikovich

UPDATED: DECEMBER 08, 2022 | 1 MIN READ

You must carry car insurance in Wisconsin along with proof of coverage. You face fines of $500 and a license suspension if caught without it. Offering fraudulent proof of insurance costs you a fine of up to $5,000.

Penalties for driving without insurance in Wisconsin

The state of Wisconsin requires drivers of motor vehicles to provide proof of insurance. You’ll face a fine of $10 if you’re unable to provide proof of insurance.

If you’re caught without car insurance in Wisconsin, you face fines of up to $500. You’re also required to file an SR-22 form to prove you have the minimum amount of insurance coverage. Your insurance provider files your SR-22 through Wisconsin DMV, showing you’re properly insured to drive.

Type of OffenseLicense and/or Registration Suspended?Jail TimeSR-22 RequirementsMaximum Fines
No Proof of Insurance (Can Prove Coverage)

No


No


No


$10
1st Offense With No Coverage
Yes, both

No

Yes

Up to $500
Repeat Offense (No Coverage)
Yes, both

No

Yes

Up to $500

License and/or registration suspensions for type of offense

 A first-time offense won’t land you in hot water, aside from a minor fee. As long as you can provide proof of insurance, you only pay $10. Repeat offenses earn you a license and registration suspension, and you must get an SR-22 certificate.

Jail time for each type of offense

There is no jail time in Wisconsin, regardless of how often you get caught driving without a license. However, your license is suspended, and you might face jail if caught driving without

a license.

SR-22 requirements

You don’t require an SR-22 certificate if it’s your first offense. If it’s a second or third offense, you must get SR-22 insurance as you’re considered a high-risk driver. Your insurance provider must file an SR-22 with the Wisconsin DMV.

Fines and fees for each type of offense

If you have coverage but aren’t able to show proof of coverage, you’ll get a fine of $10. That fine is dismissed once you can prove coverage through your Wisconsin car insurance company. If it’s a repeat offense, you’ll likely pay fines up to $500.

Appealing fines

You must file an appeal with the municipal court. It must be done within 20 days of the judgment, and pay the required appeal fees and costs.

Wisconsin auto insurance minimum requirements for insurance

Wisconsin car insurance laws require motor vehicle owners to carry at least a minimum of car insurance coverage. The minimum car insurance coverage in Wisconsin is:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $10,000 property damage to others
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident

Most insurance providers recommend you purchase full coverage. If you’re at fault in a car accident, you’re responsible for damages and injuries exceeding your auto insurance limits.

Avoiding license suspension after an accident

If you’re in a car accident without auto insurance, it might lead to financial ruin. If you’re at fault, you’re responsible for the other driver’s damages and injuries. A car insurance policy protects you from financial devastation in the event of an accident.

Wisconsin’s Safety Responsibility (SR) Law is in place so that uninsured motorists are reported to the DMV and face immediate suspension of their license unless they meet one of the following conditions:

  • They have proof of coverage at the time of the accident
  • They agree to a payment plan for the cost of the claims
  • They pay a security deposit to cover the costs of the damages and injuries caused
  • They request a hearing to explain why they believe they’re not at fault
  • They provide a liability release showing the claim has been settled with the other driver

Scenarios when you can still get insurance in Wisconsin 

Uninsured

Insurers consider you a risk if you have a history of driving without insurance. Wisconsin drivers who allow their car insurance to lapse for 60 days pay about 7% more than the average premium. State Farm, GEICO, USAA, and Nationwide have the lowest rates for drivers who want to regain coverage.

High-Risk

Check out Wisconsin’s assigned risk program if insurance providers have denied you coverage because you’re high-risk. 

You’ll pay more for auto insurance regardless of where you get it from because of the violations on your record, such as reckless driving or DUI. Drivers with two speeding tickets pay roughly 35% more premiums than drivers with clean driving records.

Driving someone else’s car

Driving someone else’s car without insurance isn’t illegal. Non-owner car insurance protects you if you borrow someone’s car regularly. Non-owner coverage is available if you need to reinstate your driver’s license or rent or borrow cars regularly. Insurance companies such as Nationwide, GEICO, State Farm, and The General offer non-owner car insurance.

FAQs

How much is car insurance in Wisconsin?

Wisconsin car insurance costs, on average, $1,186 annually for full coverage, which is lower than the national average. It’s best to call around to different insurance providers to get the best car insurance quote.

What if you provide false insurance information?

You face serious consequences if caught as an uninsured driver and fraudulently state that you have coverage. You face fines of up to $5,000 if you provide false car insurance information at a traffic stop. 

How long can you be without car insurance?

In Wisconsin, it’s illegal to drive without car insurance. You must have uninsured motorist coverage in the following amounts:

  • $25,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident

What happens if I have a one-day lapse in car insurance?

There’s a chance that your car insurance premium increases as insurers don’t like to see any lapses in auto insurance coverage. The Wisconsin DMV is also notified that you’re driving without car insurance. You likely have to show proof of insurance to avoid penalties such as a suspension of your driver’s license.

Is Wisconsin a no-fault state for car insurance?

Wisconsin isn’t a no-fault state. If you’re at fault in an accident, you’re liable for the accident, the costs of the damages, and the injuries you cause.

How to get Wisconsin insurance after you’ve been caught driving without it

Purchasing Wisconsin auto insurance through an auto insurance provider has never been easier. Ensuring you have the minimum coverage required by the state of Wisconsin, such as bodily injury liability coverage and property damage, is essential.

If you’re ready to find Wisconsin car insurance, compare rates by calling around to ensure you get the best insurance quote. We have a helpful tool to find the best car insurance.