UPDATED: DECEMBER 06, 2022 | 2 MIN READ
Wisconsin drivers convicted of major traffic offenses, such as DUI/DWI, require SR-22 insurance coverage. Your insurer files an SR-22 certificate on your behalf through the DMV. The SR-22 form confirms that you meet the state’s minimum car insurance requirements.
What you need to know about Wisconsin SR-22 insurance
Every state has its own rules regarding SR-22 certificates. In Wisconsin, you must file for SR-22 coverage if you’re convicted of the following offenses:
- Driving with a suspended license
- Reckless driving
- Driving uninsured/underinsured
Finding cheap auto insurance requires you to shop around for the best prices from different insurance companies. In most cases, you need SR-22 insurance in Wisconsin for three years.
How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Wisconsin
It’s more expensive for car insurance if you have SR-22 insurance. Full coverage car insurance costs more than traditional insurance because you pose a greater risk.
In Wisconsin, insurance rates vary depending on the insurance provider. The cheapest option is with USAA, with an average rate of $429 yearly. They are only available to military members and their families. Auto-Owners are the most expensive option at $2,060 yearly.
|Company||Avg. Cost per Month with an SR-22 & DUI||Avg. Cost Increase After a DUI|
When are you required to get SR-22 certificate in Wisconsin
Your SR-22 insurance is proof that you hold the minimum amount of required car insurance to drive a motor vehicle. You must keep your insurance active during the three years you have the SR-22 certificate, as any lapses in coverage force you to start all over.
In Wisconsin, if you’re convicted of the following traffic violations, you must file for SR-22 coverage:
- Driving with a suspended license
- Reckless driving
- Uninsured motorist
- Speeding tickets
You must meet the following liability insurance coverage requirements in Wisconsin:
- $25,000 bodily injury (BI) coverage per person injured in an accident
- $50,000 BI coverage per accident
- $10,000 property damage coverage
How long do you have to carry an SR-22?
You don’t have to have an SR-22 certificate on your record forever. SR-22s are required for three years in Wisconsin. Other states might have fewer years or go up to five years. It also varies depending on the type of offense you were convicted with. It’s considered proof of insurance that’s required for your car insurance policy.
How a DUI impacts your car insurance rates in Wisconsin
If you’re convicted of drunk driving, you face insurance premium increases ranging from 25% to 370%. Wisconsin drivers face an insurance rate increase of roughly 45%. You also face fines, jail time, and license suspension.
Driving without insurance
The state of Wisconsin requires all motorists to have auto insurance. Driving without car insurance is illegal in Wisconsin. If you’re caught as an uninsured motorist, you face a $500 fine and lose driving privileges.
Non-owner SR-22 insurance in Wisconsin
You might lose driving privileges if you have a driving violation, such as a speeding ticket on your driving record. To get your license reinstated, you must purchase non-owner SR-22 insurance. You must do it even if you don’t have a car.
Non-owner car insurance allows you to borrow a friend’s vehicle or rent a car to save money on car insurance costs.
The average cost of non-owner car insurance premiums in Wisconsin is $417 annually. USAA is the cheapest at $180 yearly, but only for military members. State Farm is the second most affordable at $280 yearly.
How to get SR-22 insurance in Wisconsin
SR-22 requirements state that a convicted driver’s car insurance company files an SR-22 form on their behalf. Some insurance companies decline to do this as they feel the customer is a high-risk driver. Once you have SR-22 coverage, you pay higher insurance rates than a standard car insurance policy.
Is SR-22 expensive in Wisconsin?
A minimum car insurance policy in Wisconsin for drivers with clean driving record cost $473 annually. On average, SR-22 insurance with minimum DUI coverage costs $958 yearly.
How do I find out if I still need an SR-22?
It’s important to contact the Wisconsin DMV to check to see if you still need your SR-22. If you have passed the expiration time, contact your insurance provider to have it removed from your record. If the DMV says you still need it, you should never cancel it.
How much does non-owner SR-22 insurance cost?
Non-owner SR-22 insurance costs between $15 and $25 for insurers’ fees for filing the SR-22 form with the DMV. Non-owner SR-22 car insurance costs roughly 3% more than standard non-owner auto insurance.
Which company in Wisconsin is cheapest for SR-22 insurance?
USAA is the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Wisconsin at $360 yearly. The plans are only available to military members and their families. The second most affordable SR-22 auto insurance is with State Farm at $411 yearly.
How can you get an SR-22 removed?
Your insurance provider removes your SR-22 certificate if it’s no longer required. In Wisconsin, it takes three years before you’re able to remove it. You shouldn’t remove it before the state-mandated time, as you face serious consequences if the DMV finds out you canceled it early. Those consequences include vehicle registration suspension, driver’s license suspension, and fines.
Compare SR-22 insurance in Wisconsin
Purchasing Wisconsin SR-22 car insurance through a reputable auto insurance carrier is simple and easy. Ensuring you have bodily injury liability coverage or property damage liability is essential. Obtaining car insurance quotes from insurance carriers has never been easier.
If you’re ready to get the cheapest auto insurance in Wisconsin, comparing rates by calling and getting different quotes is important. We have a helpful tool to find the best car insurance.