UPDATED: DECEMBER 02, 2022 | 1 MIN READ
An SR-22 is a certificate of financial responsibility that proves to the state you carry liability insurance. Arkansas requires high-risk drivers to carry an SR-22. Learn more about them and find out how to get affordable SR-22 insurance in Arkansas.
When Would Arkansas Drivers Need An SR-22?
An SR-22 policy isn’t insurance. It’s a form your insurance company files with the Arkansas DMV proving you have the minimum legal limits of insurance to drive. High-risk drivers are required by law to show that they carry the state minimum liability limits to operate a vehicle in Arkansas.
What kind of drivers are considered enough of a high risk to need SR-22 insurance?
An Arkansas driver convicted of severe traffic violations such as DUI, reckless driving, or a hit-and-run accident must have SR-22 insurance to reinstate their suspended license. You may also be required to have Arkansas SR-22 insurance if you have several traffic violations of driving uninsured. Your driving record will have your traffic violations listed for the last three years.
DWIs and Arkansas
Unlike other states, Arkansas doesn’t require an SR-22 form for a DWI charge. If you have a DWI charge in Arkansas and move to another state, however, they may require you to get one. Arkansas has different requirements for drivers convicted of DWI, such as ignition interlock and DWI classes.
What’s Arkansas’ Ignition Interlock law?
The court can require Arkansas drivers convicted of DWI to install an ignition interlock device. This breathalyzer device tests your breath to detect alcohol. The car doesn’t start the device detects alcohol. Drivers with ignition interlock devices must keep them installed for one year.
How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance In Arkansas?
Drivers whose licenses are suspended must file an SR-22 form in Arkansas, and your auto insurance company is the one that will submit the SR-22 with the DMV. The court requires high-risk drivers in Arkansas to have an SR-22 certificate to prove financial responsibility in case of a car accident.
What are Arkansas’ minimum liability requirements?
Arkansas has a minimum legal liability limit on motor vehicle insurance is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident coverage for bodily injury coverage. There is also a $25,000 minimum property damage liability insurance per accident.
Getting SR-22 insurance in Arkansas
Auto insurance companies file the SR-22 insurance form for a fee of $25 to $50, depending on the provider. When you purchase the minimum auto insurance from the car insurance company, they send proof along with the SR-22 form to the Department of Motor Vehicles to reinstate your driver’s license.
How long do you have to carry an SR-22 certificate?
Depending on the convictions you have received for your traffic violations. Usually, there is a three-year minimum time limit on SR-22 insurance requirements.
Do you need SR-22 insurance if you don’t own a car?
Just because you don’t own a car doesn’t mean you don’t drive. If you operate a motor vehicle for any reason, it’s mandatory to have the state minimum liability insurance. If you don’t own a car, you need to purchase a non-owner insurance policy to prove your financial responsibility in case of accidents.
Are The Requirements For SR-22 Insurance Expensive?
Filing an SR-22 only costs around $25 to $50, but the DMV often requires a license reinstatement fee. Your auto insurance company also classifies you as a high-risk driver, increasing your rates.
Average auto insurance rates in Arkansas
The average auto insurance in Arkansas for minimum liability coverage costs roughly $500, and when you add an SR-22 certificate to the same policy, you’ll pay approximately $1100.
Restoring your driver’s privileges in Arkansas
Once you have completed your alcohol education classes, paid your fines, and purchased minimum liability auto insurance policy and SR-22 certificate, it’s time to restore your driver’s license. There is a reinstatement fee of $150 to do this in Arkansas.
How much is an SR-22 in Arkansas?
An SR-22 insurance filing costs between $25 and $50, depending on your auto insurance provider.
Does Arkansas require SR-22 insurance?
Arkansas requires SR-22 insurance for traffic violations, including a DUI conviction, hit-and-run accidents, and reckless driving. Getting multiple speeding tickets, driving unlicensed, or driving without insurance are also violations that require drivers to carry an SR-22. In these cases, violations include license suspension, and SR-22 car insurance is required to reinstate your driver’s license.
What is SR-22 insurance in Arkansas?
SR-22 insurance in Arkansas is a certificate of financial responsibility for having the state-required minimum auto insurance.
Who has the cheapest rates for SR-22 in Arkansas?
Southern Farm Bureau is one of the cheapest auto insurance companies for SR-22 coverage for Arkansas drivers.
What is an Arkansas SR-22 form?
The Arkansas SR-22 form is a certificate filed through your auto insurance company with the Arkansas DMV to prove that you have purchased the state’s minimum auto insurance coverage.
What is the cost of SR-22 insurance in Arkansas?
On average, your auto insurance premiums will increase by $500-$700 in Arkansas for adding the SR-22 certificate.
What is the minimum coverage required in Arkansas?
The minimum auto liability insurance policy in Arkansas is $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability, and $25,000 for property damage liability.
Affordable Auto Insurance In Arkansas
If you need SR-22 insurance in Arkansas, be prepared for your premium to increase. Get multiple quotes to ensure you get the cheapest rate possible.