UPDATED: DECEMBER 16, 2022 | 2 MIN READ
Drivers deemed a high risk often have more trouble finding car insurance than the average person. However, it’s possible to find suitable options for high-risk drivers in Colorado, and you don’t even have to pay unreasonable prices.
Affordable high-risk car insurance in Colorado
When you find yourself rated high-risk, there are many ways to reduce the impact of the higher rates on your auto insurance that you’ll be paying. Your insurance agent can adjust your car insurance rates by changing the amount of coverage, discounts, and deductibles. Also, try to have a good credit score, which will help lower your insurance costs.
The minimum auto insurance requirements in Colorado are 25/50/15. There is $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $15,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident. The cost of replacing a vehicle in 2022 is usually more than $15,000, and many motorists carry higher limits.
You can lower your coverage to the state minimum coverage for the high-risk status on your driving record. High-risk drivers usually return to the standard car insurance rates in three years.
Research all the discounts that apply to your auto insurance policy to get the best rate. Some auto insurance companies offer accident forgiveness for your first accident. Suppose you have your auto insurance and your homeowners or renters policy with the same company. In that case, you will receive a significant discount to reduce insurance costs on both policies.
Suppose you’re required to carry collision coverage and comprehensive coverage, also known as full coverage, on your car. In that case, you can increase your deductibles to the maximum amount for the time necessary to reduce your auto insurance cost. You can also waive the underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage until your driving history shows a clean driving record.
How Much is High-Risk Car Insurance in Colorado, and Which Auto Insurance Company is the Best?
High-risk car insurance coverage in Colorado will increase your premium from an average of $1435.00 annual premium to about a $2020 annual cost. This cost is quite an increase considering that you could also have fines and other penalties due to your high-risk status.
Cheapest car insurance
USAA and State Farm are the best auto insurance companies if you have at-fault accidents or DUI convictions. GEICO is the best for distracted driving or speeding tickets. State Farm and American Family have the best rates for racing or reckless driving violations. State Farm also has the cheapest rates for young drivers or drivers who have just received their driver’s licenses.
How Long Do Traffic Violations Stay on Your Driving History in Colorado?
Depending on the traffic violation, it can stay on your driving history for life in Colorado. Most traffic violations and at-fault accidents can stay on your driving record for seven years. A DUI conviction will remain for the life of the driver.
How long will a speeding ticket affect my car insurance rates?
Minor traffic violations will affect your car insurance rates for three years in Colorado. The points that accompany the ticket can come off earlier.
What Is A High-Risk Driver in Colorado?
A high-risk driver is a classification of either new or young drivers, drivers with multiple at-fault car accidents, moving violations, or having been convicted of DUI in Colorado. Unlike many states, Colorado traffic laws include four categories of DUI. These drivers are more likely to file claims on their car insurance policies.
If you’re under 25, you can be considered a high-risk driver on Colorado car insurance. The reason is that young drivers lack older drivers’ driving experience and skills. Young drivers get distracted easily and are known to speed, especially with their friends in the vehicle.
DUI/DUI Per Se/DWAI/DUID
The many ways of charging you with driving under the influence in Colorado can be confusing. They each have different meanings and penalties.
- DUI: Driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both with your blood alcohol contents (BAC) of .08% or higher, and it affects your ability to drive.
- DUI Per Se: Driving under the influence with a BAC of .08% or higher, but it doesn’t affect your driving ability.
- DWAI: Driving while ability impaired. Your BAC is between .05% and under .08%, and your driving ability is just slightly impaired.
- DUID: Driving under the influence of drugs. A blood test is required, and you can be charged with DUI or DWAI if any level of drugs is detected in your blood.
Driving without insurance
If charged with driving without the minimum coverage of 25,000/50,000 bodily injury liability and 15,000 property damage liability, in that case, you’ll be classified as a high-risk driver and pay higher rates for your Colorado car insurance.
Can you get a DUI without driving a car in Colorado?
You can be charged with DUI under Colorado traffic laws without driving a vehicle. With a BAC of .08% or higher, sitting in the driver’s seat with the keys in the ignition, you intend to drive drunk. If you have a BAC of .08 or higher and drive any motorized vehicle, such as a boat, lawnmower, or golf cart. If you’re riding your horse with a BAC of .08, you can be charged with DUI.
What is the best car insurance company for high-risk drivers in Colorado?
State Farm is the best car insurance company for Colorado’s high-risk drivers, even without accident forgiveness or new car replacement options.
How long does an at-fault accident stay on your record in Colorado?
The average time an at-fault accident stays on your driving record in Colorado is three to seven years, depending on the traffic violations involved.
What is the minimum liability insurance in Colorado?
The minimum liability car insurance in Colorado is $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability, and $15,000 in property damage liability coverage.
What are the penalties for a DUI in Colorado?
The penalties in Colorado for a DUI include jail time, fines, a suspended driver’s license, community service, and an ignition interlock device attached to your vehicle.
What is the average cost of car insurance for high-risk drivers in Colorado?
The average cost of car insurance for high-risk drivers in Colorado is around $2017.00 annual premium. There are higher costs if a DUI is involved.
How to Get High-Risk Car Insurance in Colorado
Colorado car insurance rates for high-risk drivers can be manageable if you know how to shop for the cheapest car insurance. Your high-risk status won’t last forever, but until it’s over, let us help you find the best high-risk car insurance in Colorado.