UPDATED: FEBRUARY 09, 2023 | 3 MIN READ
Driving without insurance in Wyoming is a misdemeanor and may result in severe penalties, including losing your driving privileges, fines, and even jail time. Below is everything Wyoming drivers need to know about car insurance laws in Wyoming.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Wyoming
Driving without car insurance in Wyoming may result in costly penalties. Depending on the circumstances, you may lose your driving privileges, need SR-22 insurance, and have a hefty fine of $500 to $1,000.
Penalties vary depending on your offense’s severity and whether it was your first time. If you cause an accident while driving uninsured in Wyoming, expect stricter penalties. Even without an accident, a charge for driving without insurance in Wyoming may result in higher car insurance rates.
|Type of Offense||License and/or Registration Suspended?||Jail Time||SR-22 Requirements||Maximum Fines|
|No Proof of Insurance (Can Prove Coverage)||No||No||No||No fines|
|1st Offense With No Coverage||Yes, both license and registration||Yes, up to 6 months||Yes||Up to $750|
|Repeat Offense (No Coverage)||Yes, both license and registration||Yes, up to 6 months||Yes||$500 to $1,000|
License and/or registration suspensions for each type of offense
If you can’t provide proof of insurance after you cause a traffic accident or commit a driving violation, you have seven days to provide proof of financial responsibility to the court. Failure to do so results in a license suspension for your first offense. Subsequent offenses result in the suspension of both your license and registration. You will also pay $80 or more in reinstatement fees.
Jail time for each type of offense
Driving without insurance in Wyoming may result in imprisonment, especially if it’s not your first offense. The penalty for driving uninsured can include up to 6 months in jail, but your sentence depends on the circumstances and the court’s decision.
Motorists who drive without insurance in Wyoming can face an SR-22 requirement. SR-22 insurance certifies you carry the minimum state-required auto insurance. Wyoming requires SR-22 forms for a minimum of three years.
Fines and fees for each type of offense
Operating a vehicle without auto insurance in Wyoming can result in expensive fines, even for a first-time offender. Your first charge with driving without insurance may result in a fine of $250 to $750, with subsequent offenses resulting in fines up to $1,000.
Wyoming auto insurance minimum requirements for insurance
Per Wyoming state laws, all drivers must meet minimum guidelines for insurance coverage. Required amounts for bodily injury liability are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident and property damage liability at $20,000 per accident. Motorists who finance or lease a car may meet more than the minimum car insurance requirement.
Avoiding license suspension after an accident
Wyoming Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offers several ways to avoid driver’s license suspension if you drive without insurance. You may:
- Provide a notarized written statement from the individual(s) involved in the car accident, where they state they don’t hold you liable or you made financial restitution
- Obtain a conditional release from the other individual(s) with your agreement to cover damage and injury costs
- Submit a surety bond, cash payment, or certified check to the DMV in the amount stated in the letter notification of your pending suspension
Scenarios when you can still get insurance in Wyoming
If currently uninsured, you can find car insurance in Wyoming but often at a higher rate than motorists with a clean driving record. Expect to pay rates 7% or higher than the average premium.
Drivers denied by insurance carriers for driving without insurance in Wyoming and other violations may look for auto insurance from the state’s assigned risk program. This program offers liability coverage to motorists denied by car insurance companies but at a higher cost than regular car insurance.
Driving someone else’s car
You need car insurance in Wyoming, even if you drive someone else’s car. If this is the case, you can purchase non-owner car insurance. This insurance costs less than a traditional car insurance policy and offers Wyoming’s minimum liability coverage. Some carriers may not offer non-owner car insurance if someone in your household has a car.
How much is the charge for driving without insurance in Wyoming?
A first-time offense for driving while uninsured ranges from $250 to $750 in fines. You will also need to pay license and registration restoration fees, plus your insurance premium will increase.
How much car insurance do I need in Wyoming?
The minimum required car insurance in Wyoming is $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability. You also need $20,000 in property damage liability.
Is it illegal to drive without insurance in WY?
Yes. Driving without insurance in WY is a misdemeanor. You may face a stiffer charge if you cause an accident or if it’s your first offense.
Do I need an SR-22 form after driving without insurance in Wyoming?
You need SR-22 coverage in Wyoming if you drive without insurance and can’t show proof of coverage. The minimum requirement for an SR-22 in Wyoming is three years.
Can I get car insurance in Wyoming if I don’t own a car?
Yes. You can purchase non-owner car insurance, provided you don’t live in a household where a car is readily available.
How to get Wyoming insurance after you’ve been caught driving without it
Wyoming requires a relatively low amount of car insurance coverage. Still, it charges harsh penalties for anyone driving without insurance. If you drive without insurance coverage in Wyoming, expect fines, suspensions, SR-22 requirements, and sometimes, jail.
If you’ve been charged with driving without insurance in Wyoming, don’t go one more day without proper coverage. You can find affordable car insurance here on our website and use our helpful tool to compare insurance quotes. Get your new insurance rates now.