UPDATED: APRIL 27, 2023 | 1 MIN READ
In most states, if you’re a high-risk driver, you must have SR-22 insurance attached to your car insurance policy. However, if you live in either Virginia or Florida and have a DUI/DWI traffic violation, you must carry an FR44 certificate. Studies have shown that motorists who drive drunk will likely drive drunk again.
What Exactly Is FR44 Insurance?
An FR-44 is a special certificate of financial responsibility (FR) required by the states of Florida and Virginia in the case of DWI/DUI citations that are a step beyond an SR-22 insurance certificate. Your auto insurance company files the FR44 with the DMV to show that you have met the FR44 requirements of auto insurance coverage of $100,000 per person/$ 300,000 per accident in bodily injury liability and $50,000 in property damage liability.
Why is there a higher amount for DWI/DUI?
Driving while intoxicated is a serious offense, and accidents involving alcohol and drug use result in higher-than-average fatal accidents. A DUI is the most heinous of crimes you can have on your driving record. Statistics have shown that drunk or impaired driving is the cause of 30% of all crash fatalities.
The cost for your auto insurance agent to file the FR44 on your behalf is usually between $15 and $25. However, your auto insurance rates will increase due to the DUI as much as 66% more than the average auto insurance premium.
Auto Insurance policy
Your minimum coverage auto insurance policy will have to increase liability limits when adding an FR44 policy for a minimum of three years. You will also be considered a high-risk driver by the insurance provider, which can cause your insurance cost to increase tremendously. Alcohol-related car crashes cost over 40 billion dollars annually.
What If I Don’t Get the FR44 Certificate?
If you have received a DWI/DUI traffic violation and don’t get the FR44 insurance certificate, the court will ensure that driving privileges will not be reinstated. Once you receive the traffic ticket, an automatic driver’s license suspension occurs.
Do I need FR44 insurance if I don’t own a car?
If you’re required to file an FR44 but don’t own a car, your insurance provider can sell you a non-owners policy to reinstate your driver’s license. If you let the non-owner policy lapse, your driver’s license will again be suspended, and the three years will start over again.
What if I don’t drive?
If you’re not driving any motor vehicle for three years, you can wait for the FR44 requirement to drop off your driving record, according to the department of motor vehicles.
If you have received a traffic violation that requires proof of insurance to be provided to the DMV but isn’t a DWI/DUI violation, you would need an SR22 certificate. This certificate proves that you carry the state’s minimum liability coverage on your auto insurance policy. This certificate is also for three years and can be used to reinstate your driver’s license.
How Can I Control the Higher Insurance Costs With an FR44?
The liability insurance requirements with an FR44 can increase your current policy quite a bit. There are a few things that you can do to try to reduce those increases. Adjust your coverages, deductibles, and discounts.
While you do have to have the minimum bodily injury and property damage coverages, you can reduce the remainder of your coverages. For example, as long as you don’t have a car payment, carrying liability-only insurance is okay.
If you’re required to carry full coverage auto insurance, you can raise your deductibles until the FR44 requirement has met the state-required time limit.
All car insurance companies offer discounts. You should research all the discounts that apply to your policy and ensure they’re included. One of the most significant discounts is having your auto and your homeowners policies with the same insurance provider.
Who needs FR44 insurance in Florida?
If you have a suspended license due to a DWI/DUI conviction in Florida, you will need FR44 insurance.
How long do you need FR44 in Virginia?
Virginia requires drivers to carry an FR44 for at least three years.
What is the average cost of FR44 insurance in Florida?
The average cost to file an FR44 in Florida is $15 to $25. However, your auto insurance will increase by around 66%.
How much does it cost to get an FR44 in Virginia?
Like in Florida, the average cost to file an FR44 in Virginia is $15 to $25. However, your auto insurance will increase by around 66%.
What is the difference between FR44 and SR22?
Both SR22s and FR44s are certificates that show the state you carry minimum liability insurance. FR44s are only used in Virginia and Florida. Also, they are only for drivers who have a DUI conviction.
Getting FR44 Insurnace
Drinking/Drugging and driving is the most dangerous act you can do on the road. It can cost lives, your freedom, and financial security. If you have been charged and are required to provide an FR44 insurance certificate, let us help. We can work to save you money while meeting the coverage requirements with our online car insurance quotes.