UPDATED: DECEMBER 16, 2022 | 2 MIN READ
Do you need to get SR-22 insurance in Alabama but dread the thought of your car insurance premium increasing? You don’t have to break the bank for quality coverage — there are options available that make finding insurance with an SR-22 easy and stress-free. Whether you’re buying insurance for yourself or a family member, this guide explores all your options so you can make an informed decision.
What is SR-22 insurance?
An SR-22 is not an insurance policy; it’s a certificate attached to your auto insurance policy that proves to the state that you have the minimum liability auto insurance required by the state of Alabama. States will require you to provide an SR-22 if you’re a high-risk driver.
High-risk Alabama driver
You’re considered a high-risk driver in Alabama if you have received a traffic violation for driving under the influence (DUI), reckless driving, driving without insurance, or on a suspended license. These are severe offenses, and the law wants to ensure that you have the minimum limits of liability insurance to cover other drivers in case of an accident before reinstatement of your driver’s license.
Minimum liability limits in Alabama
The state’s minimum liability coverages in Alabama are 25/50/25. Bodily injury liability is 25,000 per person, with a 50,000 total per accident. The minimum limit for property damage liability is 25,000. Every auto owner residing in Alabama must have an auto insurance policy with these limits as minimum coverage.
Why do I need an SR-22 insurance policy in Alabama?
When considered a high-risk driver in Alabama, you must carry an SR-22 certificate that’s reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles by your insurance provider. An SR-22 shows the state that your insurance is active and financial responsibility is intact to reinstate your driver’s license after suspension.
Cost of an Alabama SR-22 for auto owners
If you own a car, filing an SR-22 form will cost about $25.00. Your auto insurance policy premiums will also increase if you’re required to have an SR-22 insurance certificate. Your car insurance rates will likely double while you’re required to carry the SR-22.
Alabama SR-22 non-owner insurance
If you’re a motorist that does not own the car but still drives and has to have a license, you will be required to purchase a non-owner auto insurance policy, and a non-owner SR-22 insurance cost will run about 25.00 per month.
How long do you have to keep an SR-22 in Alabama, and how do you get one?
In Alabama, you will have to keep an SR-22 filing for a minimum of three years. The three-year term begins when your driver’s license is reinstated. Your auto insurance company is where you will do your SR-22 filing. They will then report to the DMV that you have met your minimum liability insurance requirements with proof of insurance so you can receive your SR-22 certificate.
How much does an SR-22 cost in Alabama?
If you own your vehicle, an SR-22 filing will cost $25.00.
How long do you have to keep SR-22 insurance in Alabama?
You must keep the SR-22 insurance for a minimum of three years in Alabama.
What is SR-22 in Alabama?
An SR-22 in Alabama is a certificate that proves you have met the minimum financial responsibility limits to reinstate your driver’s license.
What is the purpose of SR-22 insurance in Alabama?
An SR-22 proves to the states that you have the minimum insurance coverage required to reinstate your revoked driver’s license.
What if I fail to maintain SR-22 insurance in Alabama?
If you don’t maintain your SR-22 insurance in Alabama, you can suspend your driver’s license and automobile registration. Your insurance company has to report all cancellations to the state.
What are the penalties for not having SR-22 insurance in Alabama?
In Alabama, the penalties for not having an SR-22 are driver’s license suspension, car registration suspension, and jail. You could possibly have your car impounded too. Also, there are fees to reinstate all of these items.
What happens if I don’t have SR-22 insurance in Alabama?
Alabama will not reinstate your driver’s license if you don’t provide an SR-22 form.
When do I need to renew my Alabama SR-22?
You should plan and renew your Alabama SR-22 30 to 45 days before the expiration date, but you must renew it fifteen days before the expiration date.
What does SR-22 insurance cover in Alabama?
An SR-22 is not insurance; it’s a form that accompanies your auto insurance policy to prove to the state of Alabama that high-risk drivers have a state minimum liability auto insurance in force.
Finding SR-22 insurance in Alabama
Reckless driving is very costly, and the consequences last several years. Slow down, pay attention, and drive friendly. If you have gotten into a situation where you need an SR-22 insurance filing, our online tools can help you find the best rates in your area.