UPDATED: DECEMBER 02, 2022 | 3 MIN READ
Connecticut SR-22 insurance is similar to most car insurance policies, except they have a higher premium. If you’re convicted of a serious offense such as a DUI, your insurance company files an SR-22 form. It proves to the DMV that you meet Connecticut’s minimum requirements for auto insurance.
What Is Connecticut SR-22 Insurance?
Connecticut SR-22 is vehicle liability insurance required by Connecticut DMV. It’s not insurance for drivers but proof that the driver carries insurance. If you’re a high-risk driver with offenses on your driving record, you must have an SR-22. You also need a Connecticut SR-22 to get your license reinstated.
It’s difficult to obtain cheap car insurance with Connecticut SR-22, but calling around helps you get the best quote.
All drivers in the state of Connecticut must carry liability coverage with the following:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
- $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability per accident
How long do you need to have an SR-22?
Only major violations require an SR-22 certificate. A Connecticut SR-22 typically results in higher car insurance rates. The severe infractions that require an SR-22 form are:
- Reckless driving
- Driving with a suspended license
- Driving without insurance
On average, Connecticut drivers must hold their SR-22 certificate for three years.
Are there different types of Connecticut SR22 forms?
There are two types of Connecticut SR-22 forms. Vehicle owners must file Owners SR-22 forms. If you don’t own a vehicle, you must file non-owners SR-22 forms to prove you carry the minimum insurance coverage.
How Much Does Connecticut SR-22 Cost
On average, Connecticut SR-22 insurance with minimum coverage limits of $1,629 yearly. A driver with a clean driving record typically pays $833 annually.
The cheapest car insurance in Connecticut is with State Farm costs $817 yearly.
This rate is based on the minimum requirements for full coverage in Connecticut. It protects you against costs of up to $300,000 in bodily injuries per accident, a $100,000 limit per person, and $100,000 for property damage.
The five cheapest car insurers in Connecticut after a DUI
Cheap auto insurance is hard to find after a DUI or other major violations. It’s more expensive for car insurance premiums with an SR-22. The most affordable auto insurance after a DUI is:
- State Farm is $440 yearly
- Progressive is $505 yearly
- Travelers are $785 yearly.
- USAA is $916 yearly
- Nationwide $1.015 yearly
Non-owner SR-22 insurance in Connecticut
If you don’t own a car but regularly rent one, you can get a non-owner car insurance policy. It’s a cheaper option for people with an SR-22 certificate who frequently borrow their friends’ cars.
On average, the cost of non-owner insurance is $1,357 annually. State Farm offers the cheapest coverage at $440 yearly. Progressive is the second cheapest option at $505 yearly.
What You Need to Know About Connecticut SR-22 Insurance
There are a few things to keep in mind with an SR-22 certificate:
- Who needs SR-22 Insurance in Connecticut: Drivers convicted of serious traffic violations. Major offenses include reckless driving, DUI, hit and run, and other crimes.
- What is the minimum SR-22 insurance coverage in Connecticut? Drivers must have at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 per accident, $25,000 in property damage liability coverage, and $25,000 in uninsured motorist coverage.
- How much does SR-22 insurance raise premiums in Connecticut: A Connecticut SR-22 increases auto insurance costs by roughly $105. That’s 10% more than the average Connecticut resident pays for standard car insurance.
- How to file SR-22 documentation in Connecticut: Your insurance company files the SR-22 with the DMV on your behalf. You must keep your insurance policy active for as long as you have the SR-22 certificate.
What happens if I let my SR-22 coverage lapse?
You must keep your insurance policy active for as long as you have the SR-22 insurance. If your coverage lapses while you have an SR-22 on file, your insurance company must report that you’re uninsured to the DMV. You’ll likely have a short grace period to provide proof of insurance. Otherwise, your SR-22 term starts over, and you’ll face penalties.
If you maintained your SR-22 car insurance for two out of the three years, and a lapse in coverage caused your mandatory term to reset, you’ll have to do three more years which costs more time and money.
How car insurance rates are calculated
Trying to compare car insurance quotes is frustrating if you’re unsure how they’re calculated. Car insurance companies use no exact formula when providing auto insurance quotes. There are a few factors that do contribute to the price you pay for car insurance coverage. These are the following factors:
- Marital status
- Your driving record (especially if you have DUIs or other major offenses)
- How much you drive
- Your car’s make, model, and year
- Amount of coverage that you need (required coverage, collision, and comprehensive)
- Your credit score
Does CT require SR-22 insurance?
If you have serious offenses on your driving record, including DUI/DWI, you must have SR-22 insurance. Your insurance company files the SR-22 on your behalf to the DMV.
Who has the cheapest rates for SR-22 in Connecticut?
The cheapest car insurance in Connecticut is with State Farm costs $817 yearly. This rate is based on the minimum requirements for full coverage in Connecticut.
What are the requirements for Connecticut SR-22 insurance?
Drivers must have at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 per accident, $25,000 in property damage liability coverage, and $25,000 in uninsured motorist coverage.
Is SR-22 insurance required in CT?
Your car insurance company files the SR-22 certificate to the DMV to prove you meet the minimum requirement in Connecticut for liability coverage. SR-22 insurance is required by drivers who have repeated serious driving violations such as DUI.
How long does SR-22 last in Connecticut?
SR-22 insurance lasts roughly three years in Connecticut. You must ensure that your car insurance doesn’t lapse when you’re required to have an SR-22 certificate.
What is the cost of SR-22 in CT?
The SR-22 form requires a one-time fee of $25. The biggest expense is the impact it has on your car insurance premium. Connecticut drivers with an SR-22 record costs more than $1,629 yearly.
How to Purchase Connecticut SR-22 Insurance
Purchasing Connecticut SR-22 car insurance through a reputable auto insurance carrier is simple and easy. Ensuring you have bodily injury liability coverage or property damage liability is essential. Obtaining car insurance quotes from insurance carriers has never been easier.
If you’re ready to get the cheapest auto insurance in Connecticut, comparing rates by calling and getting different quotes is important. We have a helpful tool to find the best car insurance.