Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In Utah

WRITTEN BY: Julia Matseikovich


The beehive state is one of the easiest states for motorists to meet mandatory minimum car insurance requirements. But there are still drivers getting caught driving without insurance in Utah. There are serious legal consequences for breaking insurance laws, and Utah drivers need to know what those are. 

The only auto insurance coverage which Utah mandates is liability coverage. This includes bodily injury and property damage liability. Drivers are free to hit the road legally as long as they purchase these mandatory minimum limits:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $65,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15,000 in property damage liability

Penalties for driving without insurance in Utah

Failure to adhere to Utah’s vehicle insurance laws carries serious legal and financial consequences. It’s one thing if a driver has a current auto policy but fails to provide proof when law enforcement requests it. Taking proof to court will get the charge dismissed. But driving without car insurance may result in losing their license, a suspended registration, and hefty fines. 

License and/or registration suspensions for the type of offense

Utah drivers will automatically have their license and vehicle registration suspended if caught driving without coverage. Motorists who want to get those reinstated must obtain car insurance coverage, go to court, present proof of coverage to the Division of Motor Vehicles, and pay their fines. 

Jail time for each type of offense

Luckily for Utah drivers, this crime is classified as a class B misdemeanor. There is no jail time required for driving without insurance. 

SR-22 requirements

Drivers will have to file an SR-22 form in order to prove that they have obtained valid insurance. This certificate stays on the driver’s record for three years and will significantly increase their insurance rates. 

Fines and fees for each type of offense

Fines start at $400 for the crime itself and go as high as $1,000 for a second offense or more. There is also a $30 fee for license reinstatement, a $100 fee for registration, and a $50 court security surcharge. 

Appealing fines

Utah offers leniency for Utah residents who obtain mandatory minimum coverage before their court date. This is referred to as a compliance credit, and it’s capped at $300. In order to be eligible, the uninsured driver must ask their insurer to file their SR-22 form before they go to court for the traffic violation.

Utah auto insurance minimum requirements

Utah requires all of its motorists to purchase liability coverage. Bodily injury liability and property damage liability protect the at-fault driver from having to pay damages (up to the policy limits). As discussed above, the minimum coverage limits are split 25/65/15. 

Scenarios when you can still get insurance in Utah 


Drivers who allow their auto insurance coverage to lapse will get penalized on their driving record. It’s almost as bad as causing a serious accident (as far as insurance companies are concerned). Premiums will go up by almost 10% on average, and applicants are more likely to be rejected for coverage. 


Something as simple as having more than one speeding ticket could label someone a high-risk driver. These motorists will often face a 25% or more surcharge for insurance premiums and get rejected more often for coverage. That’s why Utah participates in the Assigned Risk Program – to ensure high-risk motorists have at least some access to reasonably affordable coverage. 

Driving someone else’s car

Some drivers assume that they don’t have to carry coverage if they don’t own their own transportation – this is not true. It still counts against them as a lapse in coverage. But maintaining a low-cost non-owner car insurance policy will keep them covered until they can purchase their own vehicle. 


Can a driver purchase additional coverages in Utah?

Of course – Utah offers full-coverage car insurance options, which may be required for loan-purchased or leased vehicles. Comprehensive, collision, and higher liability coverage limits are usually part of this requirement, but it will vary by dealership. 

What happens if a driver provides false auto insurance information in Utah?

Presenting fake proof of auto insurance is a much more serious crime than simply driving while your car insurance coverage has lapsed. This is insurance fraud, and the penalties have real legal consequences. Offenders could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, be forced to pay thousands (or more) in fines, and may even go to jail.  

How much is car insurance in Utah?

Utah motorists can get a mandatory minimum auto insurance policy for less than $45 per month if they have a clean record and a good credit history. And drivers with a car loan or a lease only pay around $110 on average for full coverage. 

How to get Utah insurance after you’ve been caught driving without it

It’s difficult and expensive – but not impossible – to get covered if a motorist is caught driving without auto insurance in Utah. But drivers who want affordable, high-risk insurance options have to understand how the system works first. It’ll be much easier to find reliable coverage at a lower rate once they know what to look for.