UPDATED: DECEMBER 07, 2022 | 2 MIN READ
If your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked in Ohio, you’ll need an SR-22 certificate to reinstate your driving privileges. An SR-22 form proves to the state that you have the required liability insurance coverage that meets the state minimum. Keep reading to learn more about SR-22 filing for Ohio drivers, who may need it, how much it costs, and more.
Ohio SR-22 insurance: What You Need to Know
If you live in Ohio and you’ve had your license suspended due to driving uninsured or a moving violation, you may have to file an SR-22 for license reinstatement. SR-22 isn’t insurance coverage. Instead, it’s a certificate from your insurance company that proves to the state that you have the required minimum liability insurance for at least three years.
SR-22 forms involve a filing fee of about $20 and can only be filed with the Ohio BMV. However, before you file, you’ll need to buy either car insurance or a financial responsibility bond that meets state requirements.
How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Ohio?
While the cost of SR-22 filing in Ohio is around $20, SR-22 insurance quotes are often much higher than standard policy quotes because of the incident that caused you to require the certificate.
|Company||Avg. Cost per Month With an SR-22 & DUI||Avg. Cost Increase After a DUI|
When are you required to get an SR-22 certificate in Ohio?
An Ohio SR-22 certificate may be required if the court considers you a high-risk driver. Some common reasons for needing an SR-22 certificate include the following:
- A DUI/DWI conviction. Ohio drivers convicted of reckless driving or a DUI/DWI or who have at least 12 points on their driving records in the past two years may be required to file an SR-22. The court usually notifies drivers of this judgment. Still, you can also check your driving record online via the Ohio BMV to check your points and license status.
- Driving while uninsured. Ohio’s financial responsibility law requires drivers to carry car insurance or a form that proves financial responsibility. This ensures that you can cover any resulting injuries and damage if you’re at fault in an accident. If you’re pulled over and you can’t provide proof of insurance, you may receive a non-compliance suspension and have to carry SR-22 insurance for three years.
Drivers who fail to pay child support or have too many moving violations or at-fault accidents in a short time may also require an SR-22 form.
How long do you have to carry an SR-22 in Ohio?
How long drivers have to carry SR-22 insurance varies by state. In Ohio, first-offense drivers will have an SR-22 requirement on their driving record for three years. Second or third offenses within five years will have an SR-22 requirement on their record for five years.
How a DUI impacts your car insurance rates in Ohio
If you’re convicted of a DUI in Ohio, you’ll face higher car insurance rates as you’re now considered a high-risk driver with an SR-22 certificate. Insurance companies consider high-risk drivers more likely to file future claims, so they compensate for the added risk by raising premiums.
Driving without insurance
Driving without insurance also impacts your future insurance rates. Because you require an SR-22 certificate, your insurance company will consider you a high-risk driver and raise your premiums.
Non-owner SR-22 insurance in Ohio
If your current car insurance provider in Ohio doesn’t offer SR-22 filing, you can keep your existing policy and purchase a non-owner SR-22 policy as a secondary policy. The non-owner SR-22 policy doesn’t duplicate coverage for any cars you own. Instead, it covers vehicles you don’t own but can get your SR-22 filed. This can be a good choice if your primary policy is bundled with another insurance.
How to get SR-22 insurance in Ohio
Because SR-22 is a document that proves you have the minimum required car insurance in Ohio, you need car insurance before you can get it.
- If you already have auto insurance in Ohio, your insurer can file the document for you and charge you a fee. Only some car insurance companies will do an SR-22, so you may have to find a new insurer.
- If you need car insurance, you must let your new insurer know about your SR-22 requirement. There’s typically a question on the policy application about requiring an SR-22 or Certificate of Financial Responsibility. If they accept SR-22 drivers in Ohio, they will file it for you and charge you a fee.
Once your SR-22 is filed at the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), you’ll receive a notification. If you’re required to have an SR-22 and drop insurance or lapse in premium payments, your insurance provider will notify the state.
SR-22 bond in Ohio
Instead of insurance, Ohio drivers can also attach an SR-22 to a financial responsibility (FR) bond. These bonds can be purchased from insurers and are typically the cheapest option for those that require an SR-22. Like SR-22 insurance, SR-22 bond quotes vary among insurers, so it’s best to compare rates from different companies.
Purchasing bond coverage is similar to purchasing a non-owner car insurance policy to meet Ohio’s minimum requirements, but you can’t make additions to an FR bond. If you want additional coverage or higher limits than the state-required minimum, you would need to purchase a non-owner SR-22 policy instead. An FR bond only provides liability insurance, so you and your vehicle won’t be covered if you’re involved in an at-fault accident.
SR-22 Insurance in Ohio FAQs
What is an SR-22 in Ohio?
SR-22 is a form your insurer files on your behalf to prove that you have coverage that meets Ohio’s minimum auto insurance liability coverage in the event of an accident.
How much does SR-22 insurance cost compared to a standard policy in Ohio?
Your actual rates will vary, but if you require SR-22 insurance, you can expect to pay more than your standard policy.
Where can Ohio drivers get an SR-22?
Ohio drivers that need an SR-22 should contact their insurer for filing information. Some car insurance companies will not file an SR-22, so you may have to find a new insurer to file for you.
How long do Ohio drivers need an SR-22?
In Ohio, the duration of your SR-22 requirement depends on the severity of your violations. Once you get SR-22 insurance, you’ll need it for about three years from when your driver’s license is reinstated.
Which company in Ohio is the cheapest for SR-22 insurance?
Ohio’s cheapest SR-22 insurance provider for the general public is State Farm, with an average annual price of $379.
Compare SR-22 insurance in Ohio
As a high-risk driver in Ohio, SR-22 insurance shows that you’re financially responsible in case you’re involved in an accident. SR-22 insurance rates vary significantly by company, which is another excellent reason to compare quotes before you purchase. If you’re an Ohio state resident and require SR-22 insurance, get a quote today to find the cheapest insurance possible.