Cheap Car Insurance In Louisiana For 2022


WRITTEN BY: Julia Matseikovich

UPDATED: SEPTEMBER 15, 2022 | 2 MIN READ

Looking for cheap car insurance in Louisiana? The state has several carriers ready to write you a policy that fits your needs and budget. Read on to find out how to get comprehensive coverage at a great rate.

Best Louisiana Car Insurance Companies

The Louisiana auto insurance sector has plenty of choices to choose from. These are some providers to choose from, including: 

  • USAA
  • GEICO
  • Progressive
  • Tennessee Farm Bureau Insurance
  • Erie Insurance

Cheapest Louisiana Car Insurance Company

For full coverage, USAA provides the cheapest rate. The cost is $149 per month or $1,789 per year. The company offers car insurance to current and former military families. 

If you don’t qualify for USAA car insurance, consider State Farm or Allstate. Both offer several discounts to lower your rates.

Company With the Best Customer Service

A study done by MoneyGeek showed that GEICO has the highest satisfaction rate when it comes to customer service. It ranked 4 out of 5. The company, which is commonly known thanks to its beloved mascot, the GEICO gecko, also offers a variety of discounts and decent rates.

Company With the Best Premium-Reducing Programs

State Farm offers reductions for car insurance in Louisiana to drivers who have driven safely for three consecutive years. This means, if you’ve been insured with State Farm and you’re accident-free for three consecutive years, you’re insurance rates decrease. 

They also offer reductions on medical payments coverage if the driver insures a new car. 

Company With the Best Discounts

Allstate offers a variety of discounts. In their policy, vehicles that are fitted with anti-theft technology and airbags can be eligible for a reduced price. Another premium reducing incentive is available to drivers who complete defensive driving training. 

Louisiana Insurance Demographics

In 2022, Louisiana state has a population of 4.6 million people. This equates to a growth of 0.27% since 2021. Many factors can influence insurance rates, including the following:

  • Crime Rates: The crime rate per 1,000 residents is 6.38% for violent crime and 28.77% for property crime. The chances of being a victim of a violent crime in Louisiana is 1 in 157.
  • Average Household Income: The overall average income in the state is $38,718. For men it’s $48,549 and $30,700 for women. 
  • Median Age Range: The overall median age is 37 years. For men, it’s 35.9, while for women, it’s 38.4.
  • Education: The largest proportion of the population (1.04 million) are high school graduates. This equates to 33.26% of the population. Twenty-one percent have some college while 15% have a bachelor’s degree.

Common Risk Factors In Louisiana

Common risk factors that can increase premiums include:

  • Age
  • Having a previous driving offense
  • Having a poor driving record 

Auto Insurance Laws In Louisiana

Louisiana car insurance laws are similar to other states. It requires drivers to have a minimum level of liability insurance. The requirements of all drivers include that: 

  • Drivers must show proof of insurance to receive a driver’s license
  • Drivers must show proof of insurance at all times while behind the wheel
  • Drivers must purchase at the least a minimum liability coverage plan that includes bodily injury and property damage.

What are the minimum car insurance requirements in Louisiana?

Auto insurance in Louisiana requires that drivers have minimum liability coverage. These limits include:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $30,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 coverage for damage to another vehicle or other property

Am I required to carry uninsured motorist coverage in Louisiana?

The state doesn’t make it mandatory to have uninsured motorist coverage; however, they require that insurance companies have it as part of their packages. The driver must reject this part of the policy in writing. 

Louisiana SR-22 policies

SR-22 is a form that shows that the driver who caused a serious traffic violation has the appropriate insurance coverage to meet the minimum required in the state. Normally, the insurance provider files it. Louisiana car insurance requires a driver to obtain this form for high-risk road offenses. Southern Farm Bureau offers the cheapest SR-22 insurance premium. Its average premium is $1,031 per year.

Is Louisiana a no-fault state?

No, it’s not a no-fault state. Auto insurance in Louisiana follows an at-fault system. The court identifies who was legally at fault in an accident, and that driver will be held accountable. Whatever driver causes the accident, they are deemed responsible for the payment of damages and any medical treatments required by those injured in the crash. 

What happens if my vehicle isn’t properly insured in Louisiana?

Car insurance is a legal requirement in the state. You may face several consequences if you don’t meet the minimum requirements for auto insurance in Louisiana. 

  • You may face a fine of between $500-$1,000. 
  • You may also have to pay a fine if you aren’t carrying proof that you have insurance when asked by police 
  • Your vehicle may be impounded
  • Licenses may get canceled. 
  • If you are involved in an accident without insurance, you face having your license suspended, and registration is taken for 180 days. 
  • You may lose your right to drive for one year to 18 months if you state that you had insurance and it’s discovered that you hadn’t. 

Does Louisiana accept digital insurance cards?

Yes. Louisiana accepts proof of auto insurance in a digital format. Drivers can present their insurance policy via their phone or another digital device. Some providers have digital insurance cards.

How Much Does Car Insurance In Louisiana Cost?

An average auto insurance policy in Louisiana averages $1,002 per year or $84 per month. This is for a policy with minimum coverage as required by the state. A full-coverage policy averages $3,720 per year or $310 per month.

Average Cost of Car Insurance In Louisiana By City

Prices vary per city, with New Orleans the most expensive, costing an average of $4,234 per year. This is 55% more expensive than the Louisiana average. Shreveport is the cheapest city to insure your car. At $2,436, it’s 11% lower than the state price average. 

CityAverage Louisiana Car Insurance CostDifference From Louisiana Average
Baton Rouge$3,09113%
Lafayette$2,8193%
Metairie$3,27120%
New Orleans$4,23455%
Shreveport$2,436-11%

Average Cost of Car Insurance In Louisiana By Company

Annual full coverage policies vary with each insurance company. Geico offers the cheapest coverage at $575. AAA offers the most expensive rates, with $1,336 per year for full coverage. 

Car Insurance CompanyAverage Liability-Only Premium (Annually)Average Full-Coverage Premium (Annually)
AAA$1,336$4,197
Allstate$1,324$3,341
Geico$575$2,211
Louisiana Farm Bureau$1,009$2,651

Average Cost of Car Insurance In Louisiana By Age

If you’re 18, expect to pay more for your car insurance in Louisiana. Full coverage for an 18-year-old is $8,300. It drops dramatically to $5,922 when a driver turns 20 and continues to fall slowly as a driver gets older. 

AgeAverage Full-Coverage Premium (Annually)
Age 16$4,333
Age 18$8,300
Age 20$5,922
Age 25$3,426
Age 30$3,007
Age 40$2,724
Age 50$2,609
Age 60$2,600
Age 70$2,816

Average Cost of Car Insurance In Louisiana By Gender

There’s a $35 difference between the price of average policies offered to men and women. Men pay on average $2,145 while women pay $2,180.

GenderAverage Full-Coverage Premium (Annually)
Male$2,145
Female$2,180

Average Cost of Car Insurance In Louisiana By Credit Score

Drivers with a very poor or fair driving record can expect to pay over $3,000 for their auto insurance in Louisiana. You’ll need an exceptional driving record to pay less than $2,000 for your coverage. 

Credit ScoreAverage Annual Rate
Poor$3,380
Fair$3,200
Good$2,670
Very Good$2,265
Great$1,850

Average Cost of Car Insurance In Louisiana By Driving Record

A DUI/DWI can dramatically increase the price of Louisiana car insurance. Drivers can expect to pay, on average, $5,435 for full coverage. A speeding ticket or an accident can increase premiums to over $3K. 

Driving IncidentAverage Full-Coverage Premium (Annually)
Speeding Ticket$3,341
Accident$3,802
DUI/DWI$5,425

What Optional Louisiana Auto Insurance Coverages Should You Consider?

  • Collision: This coverage can help cover the cost of repairs after a crash with another car or a physical object. 
  • Comprehensive: This covers the costs of any physical damage to your car that does not result from a crash, like a break-in.
  • Medical Expenses: This covers the expenses involved in medical bills or if there are any funeral expenses as a result of a traffic accident. 
  • Roadside Assistance: This covers the cost of getting a tow truck to help you if you break down, need help changing a tire, or jump-start your vehicle. 

What Auto Insurance Discounts To Look For In Louisiana

There are several ways to get discounts when you’re looking for cheap car insurance in Louisiana. If you have a clean record or have driven safely for three consecutive years, you may be entitled to a reduction. Look for discounts if you pool policies together, like your car and home. If your vehicle is fitted with anti-theft technology and airbags, you may be eligible for a reduced price in their policy. Another premium reducing incentive is available to drivers who complete defensive driving training. 

FAQs

Is car insurance expensive in Louisiana?

Louisiana car insurance is in the country’s top three most expensive states. The reasons for this include the high urban population, high amounts of lawsuits, and vehicle theft rate above the national average. It is also expensive due to the number of highways. Younger drivers also pay more in Louisiana as the state sees younger drivers as having minimal experience, so they are at a higher risk on the roads. 

Does Louisiana require car insurance?

Yes, drivers must have car insurance in Louisiana. 

Can you get insurance without a license in Louisiana?

It’s possible to get auto insurance in Louisiana without a license. However, the law states that the person must state they are an excluded driver and put down a licensed driver as the primary person driving the vehicle who must also be the co-owner of the car. 

Does insurance follow the car or the driver in Louisiana?

Louisiana driving laws state that the insurance follows the car in most cases. The types of auto insurance that follow the vehicle include:

  • Bodily injury 
  • Personal injury
  • Collisions
  • Comprehensive policies

Drivers are required to have bodily injury and property damage liability in the state. 

Is there a grace period for car insurance in Louisiana?

A grace period lasts between two and 30 days in the state for most cases. This applies to new cars bought by insured drivers who have not yet added them to an existing auto insurance policy. 

How To Find Cheap Car Insurance In Louisiana

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance, Louisiana, has several good options. Use our rate comparison tool to get matched with policy options that fit your needs and budget.