UPDATED: JANUARY 20, 2023 | 2 MIN READ
Residents of Nevada must file a proof of responsibility form (also known as an SR-22) if they’re deemed a high-risk driver through the state for various reasons. Essentially, Nevada’s Department of Motor Vehicles can ensure that you’re adequately covered with insurance coverage after getting in trouble for reckless driving or even driving while under the influence. Let’s look below at what SR-22 insurance in Nevada means for you and how much you can expect to pay each month.
What you need to know about Nevada SR-22 insurance
Many drivers believe that an SR-22 is a type of car insurance. Instead, SR-22s are certificates for high-risk motorists that prove the driver carries the proper insurance coverage and can legally remain on the road.
SR-22 insurance can raise premium rates drastically, however. And in Nevada, annual premiums could increase by more than $94 per year compared to standard auto insurance rates.
Additionally, drivers will need to pay an SR-22 filing fee of $15 to $25 to their auto insurance company, which will then file the SR-22 documents with the state of Nevada. You must carry SR-22 coverage for three years, per Nevada state law.
If you allow your insurance to lapse, your car insurance company will report it to the state, which will, in turn, make your SR-22 period reset, and you’ll be required to pay even more fees towards your SR-22. And if you fail to follow through, your driver’s license can be suspended immediately.
How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Nevada
On average, SR-22 coverage costs $968 each year, which is 11% more when compared to traditional car insurance rates. Remember that you’ll also need to pay your SR-22 filing fees on top of your increased insurance costs.
|Company||Avg. Cost Per Month With an SR-22 & DUI||Avg. Cost Increase After a DUI|
When are you required to get SR-22 certificate in Nevada?
Nevada state law requires drivers to carry SR-22 insurance for various driving infractions. Some of the qualifying violations include the following:
- Driving under the influence (DUI / DWI)
- Reckless driving
- Driving while having a suspended driver’s license
- Driving without proper vehicle insurance coverage
Minor traffic violations, such as a single speeding ticket, won’t warrant SR-22 insurance in Nevada.
How long do you have to carry an SR-22 in Nevada?
Each driver’s situation will be different, so how long a driver must carry an SR-22 will vary depending on the person. However, most driving violations require motorists to have SR-22 insurance for at least three years. That being said, if you’re convicted of a more severe offense, such as a hit and run, you may be required to carry SR-22 insurance for over three years.
How a DUI impacts your car insurance rates in Nevada
DUI convictions are serious offenses. Not only will you face legal fines, but you’ll see a massive jump in the price of your auto insurance.
In Nevada, car insurance could increase by more than $900 a year. And although that seems drastic, it’s still 22 percent less than the U.S. average premium increase in the aftermath of a DUI.
Driving without insurance
When you decide to drive in Nevada without car insurance, you could find yourself charged with a misdemeanor, according to Nevada state law.
If you get into a car accident or are pulled over and have no active insurance, you’ll pay a fine between $250 to $1,000 and need to reinstate your driver’s license, which could run you up to $750. Nevada requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability coverage, with limits equating to:
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person.
- $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $20,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
Non-owner SR-22 insurance in Nevada
Even if you have no vehicle of your own and a suspended license due to a severe driving infraction, you may still need to file an SR-22. The best way to do this is to purchase a non-owner car insurance policy to prove that you have liability coverage. These policies are perfect for those who don’t own their car but regularly borrow vehicles of friends or family or need to use rental cars.
In Nevada, a driver can buy a non-owner insurance policy for around $1,400 per year. Of course, these rates vary depending on the insurance company you choose and factors specific to you, such as zip code, marital status, and driving history. State Farm is the most affordable regarding non-owners SR-22 coverage, costing, on average, drivers $664 per year.
USAA is a close second, costing drivers around $770 each year. But remember that USAA only insures current or former U.S. military members and spouses.
How to get SR-22 insurance in Nevada
The first step in filing an SR-22 form is contacting your insurance company. You can’t file your form, as it’s a job specifically for your insurance carrier. Many insurance companies may deny you coverage if you require an SR-22, so do your homework and contact multiple carriers.
Once you find an insurance company that provides coverage, you’ll need to pay an SR-22 filing fee. At that point, your insurer will submit the form to Nevada’s Department of Motor Vehicles, and you’ll need to continue to pay your monthly premium costs to keep your SR-22 active.
How long do you have to carry SR-22 insurance in Nevada?
Drivers who need SR-22 coverage must carry it for a minimum of three years in Nevada. However, you may need to carry it for longer, depending on what the state decides per your specific situation.
Does Nevada require an SR-22?
Nevada requires drivers to have SR-22 insurance if they’ve committed serious traffic offenses. The most common driving infractions that warrant an SR-22 are DUIs, reckless driving, and driving with a suspended license.
How much is an SR-22 in Nevada?
SR-22s in Nevada can be costly. To file an SR-22, you can expect to pay between $15 – $25. However, the insurance you’ll need will cost you nearly $1,500 annually.
How do I get rid of an SR-22 in Nevada?
You can get rid of your SR-22 by completing your three-year timeframe. Once you complete this, without any lapses in your insurance, the DMV will send a notice to you notifying you of the completion of your requirements.
What are the penalties for not having an SR-22 in Nevada?
Penalties for not having SR-22 insurance in Nevada can include several things. License suspension, fines and fees, and registration suspension can all occur if you fail to carry the proper coverage.
What is the difference between SR-22 and SR-26 in Nevada?
SR-22s are certificates of financial responsibility that indicate a driver has the proper liability insurance coverage. An SR-26 is when a driver completes their SR-22 period, and they can begin their normal driving privileges once again.
Compare SR-22 insurance in Nevada
Are you on the hunt for affordable SR-22 insurance in Nevada? If so, we have a team of dedicated and experienced insurance agents who are more than prepared to find you the most affordable rates. We can provide multiple insurance quotes and get you back out on the open road in the blink of an eye.