UPDATED: DECEMBER 20, 2022 | 3 MIN READ
Connecticut drivers can be considered high-risk for numerous reasons. Once classified as a high-risk driver in Connecticut, you can expect your insurance rates to increase significantly. However, there are several ways a high-risk driver can limit the increase in their car insurance rates.
Why has the Connecticut DMV classified you as a high-risk driver?
Connecticut has many items that can classify you as a high-risk driver for your auto insurance company. Your credit score, age, occupation, and driving history can all be factors in what you will pay for your car insurance policy.
Research studies have shown that drivers with poor credit scores usually file more claims. All insurance factors will depend on your likelihood of costing the insurance provider money in claims. So motorists with good credit will pay less for car insurance coverage.
Young drivers and senior drivers
Teen or young drivers are inexperienced and easily distracted, but senior drivers have slower reaction times, and injuries can be more severe. These are both indicators that you’re at a higher risk for car accidents and higher claims.
Occupation comes into play with drivers because some professions will result in more accidents. For instance, if you’re a chef, lawyer, or in the medical field, you will work long hours in high-stress situations. If you drive a taxi, bus, Lyft, or Uber, you will be on the road for many more hours than a standard motorist.
If you have at-fault accidents, traffic violations like speeding tickets, DUI (driving under the influence)/DWI(driving while intoxicated), had your driver’s license revoked, or operated a motor vehicle while uninsured, you’re a high-risk driver. Your history shows that you have poor driving behaviors. Connecticut drivers with clean driving records pay much lower auto insurance rates.
Connecticut car insurance rates
The state average car insurance rate for liability coverage is roughly $66 per month and $150 for full coverage. You can pay double this amount for auto insurance premiums when you’re a high-risk driver in Connecticut.
State minimum auto insurance coverage
Every state has a legal minimum limit for liability insurance coverage. The state of Connecticut’s minimum is 25/50/25. This law means you must carry a minimum of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability, and $25,000 per accident in property damage liability.
If your license has been revoked due to your high-risk situation, you may be required to file an SR-22 certificate in Connecticut. The certification proves to the state that you have the minimum auto insurance coverage.
How long will you be classified as high-risk?
Depending on why you’re considered high-risk, you may carry this classification between three to five years in Connecticut.
What are the maximum liability limits of the Connecticut Automobile Insurance Assigned Risk Plan?
You’re placed in the Connecticut Automobile Insurance Assigned Risk pool when you can’t purchase auto insurance through private companies. In this plan, all auto insurance providers are assigned high-risk drivers equally to reduce the costs across the board. Most insurance providers’ maximum liability limit is $300,000 or $500,000.
How can you get cheap car insurance as a high-risk driver?
While you’re high-risk, you will pay higher premiums for motorist coverage. There are several ways you can control these premiums with coverage limits, discounts, and deductibles. It would be best if you always shopped for the cheapest Connecticut car insurance from different auto insurance providers.
If you only need liability for your vehicle, shop for the minimum of 25/50/25, and you can pay as low as $62 per month with State Farm, depending on your premium factors. If you have a loan or lease your vehicle, you can find insurance as low as $1800 per month. You can also drop uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage while paying higher rates for being high-risk.
Discounts are great
Discuss with the auto insurance agent all the discounts that can apply to your insurance policy. Even though you’re high-risk, you can still get multi-policy discounts, defensive driving discounts, and more. If you buy your homeowners or renters policy with the same insurance company, you will receive a considerable discount on both policies.
Suppose you have to have full coverage insurance on your vehicle, which includes collision and comprehensive coverage. In that case, you can increase your deductibles to the highest amount until your high-risk status has ended.
What is the best car insurance company for high-risk drivers in Connecticut?
State Farm has been rated the best car insurance company for high-risk drivers in Connecticut. If you’re active in the military or are a veteran, USAA also has lower annual premiums than most insurance providers.
What insurance company has the cheapest rates for high-risk drivers in Connecticut?
State Farm has the cheapest rates for high-risk drivers in Connecticut at $52 per month for liability and under $150 per month for full coverage.
What is the average cost of car insurance for high-risk drivers in Connecticut?
This question is difficult to answer as it depends on the reason you’re high-risk. If you’re high-risk due to an at-fault accident, you will pay less than someone with a DUI.
What are the minimum car insurance requirements for Connecticut?
The minimum car insurance requirements in Connecticut are 25/50/25. This law is in place to make sure every motorist is financially responsible. The coverages mean you must carry a minimum of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability, and $25,000 per accident in property damage liability.
Find the best car insurance rates for high-risk drivers in Connecticut
Whether you’re looking for minimum liability or full coverage auto insurance, we can help you to find the best auto insurance policy for you while you’re going through the rough time of being classified as a high-risk driver in Connecticut. Use our online quoting tools to get your free quotes today.