UPDATED: AUGUST 07, 2023 | 3 MIN READ
With average rates 21.6% lower than the national average, Illinois drivers pay affordable rates if they have clean driving records. High-risk drivers in Illinois, however, often pay steeper rates and may need an SR-22 form, depending on their traffic offenses.
The average annual premium for a driver with a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) conviction in Illinois is $2,860. Other high-risk Illinois drivers include drivers with speeding tickets and other violations. This article goes into high-risk drivers, what they pay in Illinois, and how to find cheap car insurance with a poor driving record.
Who Are High-Risk Drivers in Illinois?
Illinois insurance companies classify various drivers as high-risk. The high-risk driver designation can apply to the following situations:
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI) conviction
- Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) conviction
- Driving while uninsured
- History of canceled or lapsed car insurance
- History of at-fault accidents
- Inexperienced or young drivers
- Elderly drivers
- Repeat claim history
- Drivers with poor credit scores
- Drivers of exotic or pricy vehicles
- Excessive speeding tickets
Drivers within these categories represent a higher risk for auto insurance companies. A low-risk driver is unlikely to file a claim or miss a payment, while a high-risk driver is. High-risk drivers in Illinois pay higher insurance rates to mitigate the risk.
How do I get rid of a high-risk driver designation?
By practicing safe and responsible driving, you can make yourself less of a risk if considered high-risk. Car insurance companies don’t have a set list of guidelines for high-risk drivers. Illinois high-risk drivers should:
- Pay all bills on time
- Never drive while under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Avoid speeding and other reckless driving
- Practice defensive driving, and don’t get into a car accident
Teen drivers receive a decrease in their car insurance premiums over time as they drive responsibly and gain experience on the road. Elderly drivers may take a driving course to prove their ability to drive safely.
A DUI or DWI conviction stays on your criminal record forever and isn’t eligible for expungement in Illinois. An insurance company will use your driving record for the last three to five years to determine premium rates. Be prepared to have a DUI affect your insurance rates for several years.
Illinois Car Insurance Guidelines
Illinois sets minimum requirements for liability coverage, and you may need an SR-22 if you don’t have the proper insurance. All drivers must carry at least the following:
- $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident
- $20,000 for property damage liability
- $25,000 for underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage per person
- $50,000 for underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage per accident
Illinois verifies all drivers’ liability coverage twice a year with a third-party vendor. Drivers without proper insurance may face penalties, including registration suspension and a reinstatement fee, plus SR-22 insurance.
What is SR-22 insurance in Illinois?
SR-22 insurance, or Financial Responsibility insurance, is a certificate issued by an insurance company alongside your current insurance policy. The certificate states you carry Illinois’ mandatory minimum liability insurance. An SR-22 certificate comes in three forms:
- Operator’s Certificate
- Owner’s Certificate
- Operators-Owners Certificate
Your car insurance company submits the SR-22 certificate to the Illinois Secretary of State, which stays on your record for three years. The Secretary of State requires an SR-22 for drivers with three or more driving violations, failure to pay judgments, and other high-risk motorists. If you need an SR-22 form, the Secretary of State will notify you by mail.
High-Risk Car Insurance for Illinois Drivers
Some insurance companies don’t carry high-risk car insurance, so you should look for companies that advertise nonstandard car insurance. These insurance providers often offer insurance coverage for high-risk drivers:
You should compare insurance quotes from three insurers to find the best rate, significantly if your current insurance company drops you after several speeding tickets or an at-fault car accident.
Illinois car insurance rates vary in price by location, carrier, driver age, vehicle, and gender. State Farm has the cheapest overall high-risk insurance in Illinois, with an average annual premium of $1,063.
Best cheap car insurance for teen drivers in Illinois
USAA offers affordable rates for military members and their families and can be a good choice for teen drivers at $3,039 a year. On average, USAA is equal to or slightly below State Farm rates in most areas. Both companies are well-known for their customer service and quick claims process.
Best cheap car insurance after a speeding ticket in Illinois
A speeding ticket increases car insurance rates in IL by 19% to 22% on average. The most affordable car insurance option after a speeding ticket in Illinois is State Farm, at an average annual cost of $1,045.
Best cheap car insurance after a DUI conviction in Illinois
Illinois drivers can pay a rate increase of up 93% after a DUI conviction in Illinois. State Farm and Progressive are the cheapest options for full coverage insurance for Illinois drivers with a DUI. State Farm features an average premium of $1,035, while Progressive is at $1,080.
Mercury offers the cheapest annual minimum coverage insurance policies at $486. State Farm is also a winner, with minimum coverage policies at $500 a year.
Who are the most high-risk drivers in Illinois?
Illinois features 24,067 drivers with a DUI conviction. Drivers with DUI are the most high-risk drivers in the state.
How do I check my SR-22 status in Illinois?
You can check your SR-22 certificate status in Illinois by calling the Illinois Driver Services Department. You will need your Social Security Number and driver’s license number for the status check.
What is the average high-risk insurance cost in Illinois?
The average insurance premium for high-risk drivers in IL is $1,675 annually. Your rate will vary based on your driving record, age, gender, driving history, and vehicle. Drivers with a DUI or speeding tickets can expect high rates.
What is the SR-22 form for Illinois?
The Illinois SR-22 form is a Certificate of Insurance filed with the Secretary of State. It’s required after you commit a traffic violation or lack the minimum liability insurance.
What are the penalties for high-risk drivers in Illinois?
The Illinois Secretary of State bases penalties on a driver’s traffic offense. Failure to carry proper liability coverage may result in registration suspension and a reinstatement fee, plus a driver may need an SR-22 form for three years.
Excessive speeding can result in a fine of $120 or more, with higher fines and jail time limits based on the driver’s speed. Speeds of 26 to 34 miles over the posted speed limit carry six months in jail and up to $1,500 in fines. High-risk drivers engaging in speeding and other reckless driving often earn points on their licenses, which can increase their insurance rates.
Looking for High-Risk Insurance in Illinois?
If you need high-risk insurance, you can expect higher annual premium rates than low-risk drivers. Various companies offer insurance for high-risk drivers in Illinois, and it pays to compare insurance quotes.
Illinois drivers pay lower insurance rates than the national average, and you can still find affordable rates as a high-risk driver. Start your research with our online tool and find great insurance quotes now.