UPDATED: MARCH 14, 2023 | 1 MIN READ
Kansas motorists convicted of high-risk driving infractions like reckless driving or DUIs must carry SR-22 insurance. SR-22s are known to increase your insurance premiums astronomically, so making yourself aware of the various rates and requirements is essential to ensure you save as much as you can where you can. Today we’ll discuss the ins and outs of everything SR-22-related, including where you can find the most affordable insurance rates.
What you need to know about Kansas SR-22 insurance
Drivers who find themselves labeled high-risk drivers in the aftermath of a serious driving offense, like a DUI, will need to obtain SR-22 coverage. To get this coverage, you’d first need to contact an insurance carrier that offers SR-22 insurance and will accept high-risk drivers.
SR-22 isn’t insurance but a certificate of financial responsibility that proves to the state that you meet the minimum insurance requirements and can drive legally. On average, the most affordable SR-22 insurance will cost drivers around $376 more per year than standard auto insurance.
To drive legally on the road, motorists must carry minimum liability coverage. The following limits include the following:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance coverage per person.
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability insurance coverage per accident.
- $25,000 in property damage liability coverage.
How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Kansas
The average cost of SR-22 insurance in Kansas for high-risk drivers is about $1,422 per year. This is a more than 58 percent increase compared to standard auto insurance policies in Kansas.
Not all insurance companies offer insurance coverage for those who require an SR-22, so your options may be more scarce than if you were shopping for a traditional car insurance policy. You can expect to pay more annually. Let’s review the below, which shows the average cost increase to your insurance when you require an SR-22.
|Avg. Cost Per Month With an SR-22 & DUI
|Avg. Cost Increase After a DUI
When are you required to get SR-22 certificate in Kansas?
Drivers are required to get an SR-22 certificate if they commit a serious driving infraction. Examples of these traffic violations include the following:
- Driving under the influence (DUI or DWI)
- Driving without adequate car insurance
- Driving while under a driver’s license suspension
- Reckless driving
You won’t be required to obtain an SR-22 certificate in Kansas if you commit minor infractions, like getting a ticket or being involved in an at-fault car accident.
How long do you have to carry an SR-22 in Kansas?
Motorists in Kansas are required to maintain SR-22 coverage for at least one consecutive year and up to five years. Of course, this timeframe will vary depending on the driver and driving record. If you fail to continue your insurance coverage and allow it to lapse or cancel, you could have to begin the SR-22 process and will undoubtedly spend a ton more out-of-pocket fines and fees.
How a DUI impacts your car insurance rates in Kansas
DUI convictions play a significant role in increasing your insurance rates. And in Kansas, your annual car insurance premium could raise, on average, an additional $616 per year. This increase is still 78 percent less than the national average.
Driving without insurance
Driving without car insurance in Kansas has extreme penalties. It’s considered illegal, as Kansas law requires minimum liability insurance coverage.
Penalties will significantly depend on your specific driving record and how many prior driving infractions and convictions you’ve had. You’ll likely face many fines and fees if you’re pulled over, have no insurance, or are involved in a car accident with insurance.
If you’re pulled over or in an accident and can’t furnish your proof of auto insurance at the time, you’ll be charged with a Class B misdemeanor. The first offense could result in fines ranging from $300 to $1,000, and you could even face jail time of up to six months.
You’ll also deal with having your vehicle registration revoked and your driver’s license. Once you provide proof of insurance, you can reinstate your registration and license.
If you’re found to be driving without insurance by law enforcement for a second time, you’ll find yourself in even more trouble. Kansas will charge you fines ranging from $800 to $2,500.
You could also spend up to one year behind bars, as you’ll now be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. When you’re ready to reinstate your driver’s license, you can expect to pay a $300 reinstatement fee if your driving offenses occur less than a year apart from one another.
Three offenses or more
Drivers who commit three or more serious driving offenses are labeled habitual traffic violators by the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles. Habitual offenders get charges with Class E felonies and can face one to two years in a Kansas state prison.
Upon this offense, drivers will face immediate cancellation of driving privileges for three years. You will have a suspended registration until proof of proper insurance coverage is provided.
Non-owner SR-22 insurance in Kansas
Non-owner SR-22 insurance is an excellent option for those needing proof of insurance but who don’t own a vehicle. This is the coverage you need if you borrow a friend or family member’s car or even use a rental vehicle regularly. You’ll pay an average annual cost of more than $530, depending on which insurance company you choose to buy a policy through.
How to get SR-22 insurance in Kansas
To get your Kansas SR-22 certificate, you’ll need to find a car insurance carrier that offers SR-22 coverage. Once you do this, you can pay your filing fees ranging from $15 to $25.
Once you pay this, your insurance company can file your SR-22 form with the Kansas Division of Vehicles (DOV). With this coverage, you’ll get a copy of your certificate in the mail and can resume normal driving activities. You’ll be required to carry this coverage for one to three years. Just be sure not to allow this coverage to lapse or cancel, or you’ll find yourself in the middle of steep fines and issues.
What is SR-22 insurance for in Kansas?
SR-22 insurance coverage in Kansas is a certificate of financial responsibility. It essentially indicates to the state that you meet the minimum requirements regarding liability insurance in the aftermath of a severe driving infraction.
Does Kansas require an SR-22?
The state of Kansas requires SR-22s for drivers who have been deemed high-risk drivers. If you fail to upkeep your SR-22, you could lose your license and registration. SR-22s are necessary for a minimum of one year.
How do I file an SR-22 in Kansas?
Drivers can’t file their SR-22 form. Instead, the insurance company will file the SR-22 form with the state, and the driver will receive a copy of the SR-22 certificate once the driver pays the filing fees and premium costs.
What are the benefits of SR-22 insurance in Kansas?
SR-22 insurance in Kansas is a beneficial tool to get high-risk drivers back on the road. If you’ve been convicted of a DUI, reckless driving, or more, having SR-22 insurance indicates that you legally meet the minimum required insurance to drive on the roads in Kansas.
What is the SR-22 form for in Kansas?
The SR-22 form in Kansas indicates that the driver carries the minimum liability insurance required to drive. It’s a form that your insurance carrier files directly with the Kansas DOV.
Compare SR-22 insurance in Kansas
SR-22 insurance policies can be costly, so all Kansas drivers should do as much research as possible to find affordable insurance rates. We have a team of licensed insurance agents ready to help you find the best rates for your SR-22 insurance. Call us at your convenience so we can provide you with multiple free quotes in just moments.