Guide For SR-22 Insurance In Pennsylvania


WRITTEN BY: Julia Matseikovich

UPDATED: DECEMBER 13, 2022 | 3 MIN READ

SR-22 insurance is a form filed by your insurance company to prove you have the legally mandated car insurance coverage. Drivers who need this type of insurance usually lose coverage after committing a serious offense like a DUI. Most Pennsylvania drivers don’t need an SR-22, but those who do should know the facts about SR-22 insurance in Pennsylvania. 

Pennsylvania SR-22 Insurance: What You Need to Know

Motorists could lose their license or insurance coverage after committing several driving infractions. These could include being in an at-fault accident or committing a major infraction like driving under the influence.

In order to be able to drive legally again, most states require the driver to get their insurance company to file an SR-22 on their behalf. This proves that despite their terrible driving record, they have the legal mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage to be allowed to drive.

Pennsylvania is different, though, because it doesn’t automatically require SR-22 insurance for most residents. One of the exceptions to this rule is if a motorist is moving to Pennsylvania from a state where they were required to file an SR-22. Similarly, drivers who plan on moving out of Pennsylvania to a state which requires SR-22 insurance must file an SR-22 before they leave.

How Much Does SR-22 Insurance Cost in Pennsylvania

Any driver who finds themselves in need of SR-22 insurance will likely see their rates go up. This is because motorists who are required to file this form have likely committed at least one, if not several serious driving violations.

Anytime a driver commits a moving violation, their premiums will go up to mitigate the financial risk they pose to their insurance provider. The most common violation requiring SR-22 insurance is either a DUI or a DWI. But if you have several minor violations within a short period of time on your record, if you are found at fault in a serious accident, or if you are caught driving without insurance coverage, these events may also necessitate an SR-22 certificate. 

Out of the companies in the table below, Nationwide is the least forgiving when it comes to DUI, seeing as how their insurance rates nearly double for motorists with a conviction. Allstate doesn’t appear to raise their rates at all – but that may be because they’re charging fairly high rates in the first place. 

CompanyAvg. Cost per Month With an SR-22 & DUIAvg. Cost Increase After a DUI
USAA$2,12632%
GEICO$2,56925%
Nationwide$3,76946%
Allstate$3,8130%
State Farm$2,7449%

When Are You Required to Get an SR-22 Certificate in Pennsylvania?

SR-22 insurance is all about proving that a driver can be responsible if their high-risk driving causes property damage or bodily injury. SR-22 insurance is not required by default in Pennsylvania, but it may be one of many insurance requirements for anyone moving to or from a state that legally mandates it. Under such circumstances, motorists will most likely need SR-22 insurance if they are guilty of:

  • Driving while uninsured 
  • Getting into an accident without carrying insurance coverage
  • Accumulating an excessive number of points on their driving record
  • Getting caught driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol 
  • Negligent and/or reckless driving
  • Causing several accidents
  • Probationary or hardship licenses
  • After reinstating a suspended driver’s license
  • Failure to pay court-mandated child support

How Long Do You Have to Carry an SR-22 in Pennsylvania?

The answer to this question depends on the state which requires you to carry it and the severity of the offense which caused it. Most SR-22 requirements include carrying the policy for at least one year but no longer than five years.

How a DUI Impacts Your Car Insurance Rates in Pennsylvania

Car insurance companies in Pennsylvania don’t want to insure high-risk drivers because of the added risk. Motorists convicted of something as serious as a DUI can expect to see a major increase in their monthly premiums or lose their insurance coverage altogether.

Driving without insurance

Driving without carrying the legal mandatory minimum liability coverage is a serious offense in Pennsylvania. But the good news for drivers is that it doesn’t automatically require an SR-22 insurance filing. The bad news is any motorist caught committing this offense has to pay hundreds of dollars in fines. They could also receive a three-month license suspension.

Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance in Pennsylvania

If you don’t own a vehicle but need an SR-22, you should get non-owner insurance. All licensed drivers without cars should have a non-owner policy to protect them while driving other vehicles.

How to get SR-22 insurance in Pennsylvania

It’s important to note that motorists who live in Pennsylvania and do not plan on moving anytime soon aren’t legally required to file for SR-22 insurance. But if a driver is planning on moving out of Pennsylvania to a state which requires SR-22 insurance, or if a motorist is moving to Pennsylvania from a state where they were previously required to have it, they may be the exception.

Drivers who find themselves in need of SR-22 insurance in Pennsylvania should do the following: 

  • Contact their current auto insurance provider and ask for an SR-22 auto insurance policy
  • Shop around for an SR-22 policy that they can afford if they do not currently have insurance coverage 
  • Be prepared to pay a small fee, somewhere between $25 and $50 dollars
  • Keep their insurance coverage current; even the smallest lapse in coverage will be promptly reported to the state, which may take legal action (such as suspending your license) if the situation is not immediately remedied

FAQs

How long do Pennsylvania drivers need to carry SR-22 insurance?

It depends on the state which requires them to carry an SR-22 insurance policy. Pennsylvania residents who moved from another state which required them to file an SR-22 form, will have to follow the laws established by their former home state. Motorists who are current Pennsylvania residents but planning to move to a state requiring SR-22 insurance for high-risk drivers will have to adhere to the laws established by their future home state. 

How can a driver get SR-22 insurance in Pennsylvania?

Motorists requiring SR-22 insurance in Pennsylvania will have to work closely with their car insurance company and their local DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles). Because an SR-22 form isn’t required for state residents with no plans to move, drivers who need it might have to cut through many red tapes to get it.

How much does Pennsylvania SR-22 insurance cost?

SR-22 insurance will come with a filing fee, and the policy itself will require the driver to pay a monthly premium to maintain coverage. The filing fee is usually $50 or less. The monthly premiums will be more expensive than what they were previously paying for coverage because insurance companies typically charge high-risk drivers more expensive rates in order to offset their financial risk. 

Can an insurance provider cancel a driver’s policy if they require an SR-22 filing?

Unfortunately, yes, they can. And it’s the driver’s responsibility to find a new policy before the cancellation date. The insurance provider is legally required to give advanced notice of policy termination, including the cancellation date. If any motorist fails to find a new SR-22 policy before this deadline, they risk having their license suspended.

Compare SR-22 Insurance in Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania may not require its residents to file for SR-22 insurance, but unique circumstances may make this type of coverage mandatory for some motorists. Such unusual circumstances can make it difficult to find affordable insurance premiums – but our helpful tools can connect you with high-quality auto insurance at a fair price.