Guide For SR-22 Insurance In Utah (Updated 2023)


WRITTEN BY: Julia Matseikovich

UPDATED: DECEMBER 05, 2022 | 1 MIN READ

Utah drivers with high-risk traffic violations such as DUI/DWI must file an SR-22 form. Your insurance provider fills it out, and submits it to Utah DMV to prove that your insurance meets the minimum insurance requirements. SR-22 insurance is more expensive than standard car insurance due to the severe infractions on your driving record.

What you need to know about Utah SR-22 insurance

Utah, along with other states, has its own rules regarding SR-22 certificates. You must file an SR-22 in Utah if you’re convicted of any of the following offenses:

  • Speeding
  • Driving underinsured/uninsured
  • Reckless driving
  • Driving with a suspended license
  • DUI

Finding cheap auto insurance might be difficult with convictions on your driving record. It’s best to shop around to ensure you get the best insurance quote.

How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Utah?

SR-22 insurance in Utah is the cheapest with Farm Bureau, costing $672 yearly. That’s $109 higher than standard auto insurance.

USAA offers the lowest rate at $338 yearly, but it’s only available to US military members and their families. Allstate, Nationwide, and USAA had the lowest price increases, less than $30 yearly, for adding SR-22.

CompanyAvg. Cost per Month With an SR-22 & DUIAvg. Cost Increase After a DUI
Farm Bureau$67220%
State Farm$8159%
Nationwide$9062%
Allstate$8393%
GEICO$8780%

When are you required to get SR-22 certificate in Utah?

Certain violations require SR-22 insurance. In Utah, SR-22 coverage is required for the following offenses:

  • Driving with a suspended license
  • DUI/DWI
  • Reckless driving
  • Driving without insurance

Minor violations don’t require an SR-22 form on your insurance policy. How long you need SR-22 insurance in Utah depends on the conviction. The usual duration is three years; any lapse in coverage might result in longer periods.

How long do you have to carry an SR-22?

In Utah, you must keep your SR-22 insurance active for three years. Lapses in coverage or serious offenses might result in more time. If you lapse in coverage, your SR-22 coverage resets, and you have to do the three years over again. 

How a DUI impacts your car insurance rates in Utah?

DUI drivers are considered high-risk, and insurance providers typically increase prices. In Utah, A DUI conviction increases yearly insurance premiums by 51.13%. You might also experience penalties such as the mandatory use of an ignition interlock device and license suspension.

Driving without insurance

If you get caught driving uninsured, you face an infraction. The penalty for the infraction is a $750 fine. Your car might also get impounded if you’re not careful, and your insurance company might decide not to insure you in the future. 

Non-owner insurance in Utah

Non-owner SR-22 insurance is for residents of Utah that don’t own a car or need proof of insurance to get a license. It’s an insurance policy used to get your driving privileges reinstated if you’re caught committing a traffic violation while operating a car you borrowed or rented.

It’s possible to have your license suspended if you have major traffic violations such as DUI, at-fault accidents, or speeding tickets.

The average cost of non-owner insurance in Utah is $801 yearly. USAA offers the cheapest coverage at $386 yearly. GEICO is the second cheapest at $520 annually.

How to get SR-22 insurance in Utah

Your insurance provider files your SR-22 form on your behalf through the DMV. These forms are needed for high-risk drivers, but some insurance companies might not cover you. If an insurance company does provide you coverage, it typically costs more than standard auto insurance.

FAQs

What is an SR-22 in Utah?

Utah drivers must have SR-22 insurance if they have committed a serious offense such as a DUI/DWI. SR-22 is not insurance; it’s a certificate that proves that you hold the minimum requirements for insurance in Utah.

How do I find out if I still need an SR-22 in Utah?

It’s best to contact your local DMV to find out of your SR-22 has expired. If it has, contact your car insurance company and request they remove your SR-22 filing with Utah. You only required the SR-22 in Utah for three years.

How much does non-owner SR-22 insurance cost in Utah?

Non-owner SR-22 insurance costs between $15-$25, the fee insurers charge for filing the SR-22 form. Non-owner SR-22 insurance is roughly 3% more than standard non-owner auto insurance.

Does USAA offer SR-22 insurance in Utah?

USAA offers SR-22 insurance for high-risk drivers. The company has the lowest rates overall, but it’s only available to military members and their family members.

Compare SR-22 insurance in Utah

Purchasing Utah SR-22 car insurance through a reputable auto insurance carrier is simple and easy. Ensuring you have bodily injury liability coverage or property damage liability is essential. Obtaining car insurance quotes from insurance carriers has never been easier. If you’re ready to get the cheapest auto insurance in Utah, comparing rates by calling and getting different quotes is important. We have a helpful tool to find the best car insurance.