UPDATED: JANUARY 03, 2023 | 3 MIN READ
The state of Virginia requires SR-22 insurance from drivers with serious driving violations, such as a DUI, excessive tickets, or at-fault accidents. The state also features a special insurance form known as the FR-44 for significant violations. If the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) says you need SR-22 insurance in Virginia, here’s everything you need to know, including SR-22 costs and how to get it.
Virginia SR-22 insurance: What You Need to Know
SR-22 insurance isn’t an auto insurance policy though it’s commonly referred to as “insurance.” It’s a term used for documentation that proves you carry the minimum state liability insurance. Virginia requires SR-22 insurance from high-risk drivers with violations such as at-fault accidents, driving without insurance, and other convictions.
The SR-22 is a certificate of financial responsibility your insurance provider files with the Virginia DMV. If you have an SR-22 in Virginia, you must maintain car insurance for the entire SR-22 requirement.
How much does an SR-22 cost in Virginia?
SR-22 insurance in Virginia features two charges. The first is a filing fee for the document, with the filing cost averaging $15 to $25 and paid directly to your insurance carrier. The second cost is an increase in your VA car insurance rates. SR-22 insurance costs an average of $1,000 a year in Virginia, but prices vary by provider.
|Company||Avg. Cost per Month With an SR-22 & DUI|
When are you required to get SR-22 certificate in Virginia?
Drivers need SR-22 insurance in Virginia when they commit serious driving violations such as
- Driving without insurance
- Providing false insurance information
- Excessive tickets
- Reckless driving
- DUI or DWI
- History of at-fault accidents resulting in injuries or death
Virginia may also request an SR-22 for unpaid judgments or child support. The state or court notifies drivers when they need an SR-22 document.
How long do you have to carry an SR-22 in Virginia?
Virginia requires an SR-22 for a minimum of three years, though a longer period is possible for serious driving violations. You must maintain a valid insurance policy for three years; failure to do so may result in the suspension of your license and increased car insurance rates. The Virginia DMV may also charge a driver’s license reinstatement fee. If your SR-22 lapses, you must have an SR-22 for an additional three years after reinstatement.
How a DUI impacts your car insurance rates in Virginia
Just one DUI can increase your car insurance rates in Virginia by an average of $526 a year. At 52%, the rate increase is still cheaper than the national average rate increase after a DUI. Your exact rate varies according to your age, gender, carrier, location, and whether it was your first offense. The need for an SR-22 filing in Virginia comes after a DUI. You can expect an increase of 50% or more in car insurance premiums after an SR-22 requirement. The exact increase depends on the severity of your driving offense and your carrier.
Driving without insurance
Driving without proper car insurance in Virginia can be a Class 3 misdemeanor. Motorists in Virginia who drive without car insurance may need an SR-22 form from their insurance carrier, which increases their insurance rates. A $145 license reinstatement fee and a $600 noncompliance fine also apply if you drive without insurance in Virginia.
Non-owner SR-22 insurance
Drivers with serious driving violations that don’t own a car and need an SR-22 can purchase non-owner SR-22 insurance. Non-owner car insurance provides the liability coverage Virginia requires and is geared strictly toward individuals who don’t own a car. Insurance companies often won’t write a non-owner policy if another member in the person’s household owns a vehicle. Virginia features an average cost of $659 a year for non-owner SR-22 insurance.
How to get an SR-22 in Virginia
If you need SR-22 insurance in Virginia, inform your current insurance company immediately. If they don’t offer SR-22 forms, you will need to contact another insurance carrier that does. You will then pay the filing fee, and
the carrier will file the form on your behalf with the Virginia DMV. Be sure you confirm the DMV receives your SR-22.
Other insurance forms in Virginia
FR-44 Insurance in Virginia
Virginia is one of two states that require FR-44 insurance. Like an SR-22, an FR44 is a document of financial responsibility. It certifies you carry double the state minimum car insurance requirements. Virginia requires an FR-44 for three years after a DUI offense and other severe driving violations. To get FR-44 insurance, you must request the FR44 form from your insurance carrier. An FR-44 requirement increases your car insurance premium significantly.
What is FR44 insurance?
FR44 insurance is a document required by Florida and Virginia for severe traffic violations. Like the SR-22, it states that a driver carries the state’s minimum insurance coverage; however, the FR-44 requires a driver to have double the state minimum liability insurance.
How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Virginia?
SR-22 insurance in Virginia costs $15 to $25 as a filing fee. Motorists pay the fee directly to their insurance carrier. If they need an SR-22, drivers in Virginia pay increased insurance rates.
How long do you need an SR-22 in Virginia?
Virginia requires an SR-22 form for a minimum of three years. A more extended period may apply if you commit multiple driving violations or let your SR-22 coverage lapse. Lapsed SR-22 coverage means an additional three years from your license reinstatement date.
What is the penalty if you don’t have an SR-22 in Virginia?
You only need an SR-22 in Virginia if the state or court orders an SR-22. You’re fine if you have a good driving record and the state doesn’t notify you about an SR-22.
What’s the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Virginia?
The most affordable average SR-22 insurance for Virginia drivers is from Virginia Farm Bureau. The carrier has an average annual cost of $494. Your rate may vary based on location, age, gender, vehicle, and insurance provider. Comparing rates from various auto insurance providers lets you find cheap SR-22 insurance in Virginia.
Compare SR-22 insurance in Virginia
Virginia requires SR-22 insurance for reckless drivers, drivers without insurance, and other violations. Virginia requires FR-44 insurance for several years if you have a DUI or DWI. FR-22 and SR-22 insurance in Virginia can be costly, especially after a DUI or multiple violations. You can find affordable SR-22 insurance in VA when comparing car insurance quotes from multiple car insurance companies. Start and compare quotes today.