Guide For SR-22 Insurance In Florida (2023)


WRITTEN BY: Julia Matseikovich

UPDATED: JANUARY 03, 2023 | 1 MIN READ

Florida drivers with at-fault accidents, excessive speeding tickets, or charges for driving without insurance need SR-22 insurance. SR-22 insurance is a special requirement for these high-risk drivers. If you wonder whether you need SR-22 insurance in Florida, the insurance costs, and the purchase process, read on. 

SR-22 insurance in Florida: What You Need to Know

SR-22 insurance, despite its name, is not an auto insurance policy. The fact is, an SR-22 is a form or document an insurance company files with the state of Florida DMV. The Florida Financial Responsibility Law mandates liability insurance requirements for drivers in the Sunshine State. 

The minimum liability insurance requirement is $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage and $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL). Drivers without these minimum coverage amounts may need SR-22 insurance.

How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Florida?

SR-22 insurance costs include the filing fee of $15 to $25. Once Florida’s DMV determines you need an SR-22, your insurance company typically charges a higher premium as you’re now what they consider a high-risk driver. Florida’s average insurance cost is $2,333, but after the SR-22, rates may increase by over 50%. 

Specific costs for SR-22 insurance in Florida vary by driver, location, offense(s), and insurance carrier. 

CompanyAvg. Cost per Month With an SR-22 & DUIAvg. Cost Increase After a DUI
State Farm$1,26019%
GEICO$2,390144%
Progressive$4,07531%
Allstate$5,06022%

When are you required to get an SR-22 certificate in Florida?

Florida drivers must purchase SR-22 certificates after certain driving violations. Common reasons for SR-22 insurance in Florida include:

  • Driving without insurance
  • Driving with a suspended license
  • Refusing a breathalyzer test
  • Causing an accident that results in injuries or death 
  • DUI or DWI
  • Reckless driving 
  • Excessive points on your driving record 

Florida may also mandate SR-22 insurance after suspending a motorist’s license for nonpayment of child support. A judge or the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) notifies you if you need an SR-22 certificate.

How long do you have to carry an SR-22 in Florida?

SR-22 insurance in Florida requires a minimum of three years. You must keep your insurance policy current for the entire three years. A lapsed policy or a missed payment invalidates the SR-22 form and may come with penalties, including a revoked registration or a suspended license, plus increased insurance rates. 

How a DUI impacts your car insurance rates in Florida

A DUI is a serious traffic offense in Florida, and a first-time offense raises your insurance rates by $1,085 on average. Subsequent DUIs in Florida cause higher insurance rates, and your carrier may refuse to cover you. An SR-22 filing for a DUI offense raises insurance rates by 39%, depending on the insurance carrier and driver. 

Driving without insurance

Uninsured drivers need an SR-22, even if the driver doesn’t crash or cause an accident. If the state suspends the motorist’s license, the driver needs an SR-22 for reinstatement. An SR-22 may mark a driver as high-risk, and that comes with increased insurance rates. 

Non-owner SR-22 insurance in Florida

A driver without a car may need SR-22 insurance in Florida, and then they must purchase non-owner insurance. Auto insurance companies often require SR-22 insurance from drivers with suspended licenses, even if the driver doesn’t own a car.

The non-owner SR-22 form certifies a motorist carries the minimum liability coverage Florida requires. The coverage applies to borrowed vehicles and rental cars. If another person in the driver’s household owns a car, the insurance carrier may refuse the driver’s request for non-owner SR-22 insurance. Some insurance companies don’t sell SR-22 for non-owners. 

How to get SR-22 insurance in Florida 

Purchasing SR-22 insurance in Florida is easy. Once you know you need an SR-22, contact your current insurance company. If your insurance company offers SR-22 forms, they charge you a nominal filing fee, but if you don’t have car insurance, you must purchase a policy and request an SR-22 form. 

Your insurer files the form with the state and raises your insurance rates according to your driving violation(s). Your car insurance rates may double after certain driving offenses requiring an SR-22, and you may need to pay SR-22 costs in full.

Other insurance forms in Florida 

DUI and DWI convictions come with another insurance requirement in Florida. These are FR-44 requirements, and drivers with a mandated FR-44 also need an SR-22 form.

FR-44 in Florida 

Florida and Virginia are the only states that feature FR-44 insurance and SR-22 insurance. Like an SR-22, an FR-44 isn’t an insurance policy but a certificate for DUI insurance coverage. The state requires the SR-22 and FR-44 forms from Florida drivers with a DWI or DUI conviction before granting the driver back their driving privileges.

When are you required to get SR-22 certificate in Florida

Florida drivers must purchase SR-22 certificates after certain driving violations. Common reasons for SR-22 insurance in Florida include:

  • Driving without insurance
  • Driving with a suspended license
  • Refusing a breathalyzer test
  • Causing an accident that results in injuries or death 
  • DUI or DWI
  • Reckless driving 
  • Excessive points on your driving record 

Florida may also require a motorist to purchase SR-22 insurance after suspending their driver’s license for nonpayment of child support. 

How long do you have to carry an SR-22 in Florida?

SR-22 insurance in Florida requires a minimum of three years. You must keep your insurance current for the entire three years. A lapsed policy or a missed payment invalidates the SR-22 form and may come with penalties, including a revoked registration or a suspended license, plus increased insurance rates. 

How a DUI impacts your car insurance rates in Florida

A DUI is a serious traffic offense in Florida, and a first-time offense raises your insurance rates by $1,085 on average. Subsequent DUIs in Florida cause higher insurance rates plus. An SR-22 filing for a DUI offense increases insurance rates by 39%, depending on the insurance carrier and driver. 

Driving without insurance

Driving while uninsured often requires an SR-22, even if the driver doesn’t crash. If the state suspends the driver’s license, the driver needs an SR-22 for reinstatement. An SR-22 may mark a driver as high-risk, and that comes with increased insurance rates. 

Non-owner SR-22 insurance in Florida

A driver without a car may need SR-22 insurance in Florida, and then they must purchase non-owner SR-22 insurance. Auto insurance companies often require SR-22 insurance from drivers with suspended licenses, even if the driver doesn’t own a car.

The non-owner SR-22 form certifies a motorist carries the minimum liability coverage Florida requires. The coverage applies to borrowed vehicles and rental cars. If another person in the driver’s household owns a car, the insurance carrier may refuse the driver’s request for non-owner SR-22 insurance. Some insurance companies don’t sell SR-22 for non-owners. 

How to get SR-22 insurance in Florida 

It’s easy to get SR-22 insurance in Florida. Once you know you need an SR-22, contact your current insurance company. If your insurance company offers SR-22 forms, they charge you a nominal filing fee. If you don’t have car insurance, you must purchase a policy and request an SR-22 form. 

Your insurer files the form with the state, which will raise your insurance rates according to your driving violation(s). Your car insurance rates may double after certain driving offenses requiring an SR-22. 

Other insurance forms in Florida 

DUI and DWI convictions come with another insurance requirement in Florida.

FR-44 in Florida 

Florida is one of the only two states that features FR44 insurance. Like an SR-22, an FR44 isn’t an insurance policy but a certificate for insurance coverage. The state requires an FR44 from Florida drivers as a condition for license reinstatement after a DUI or DWI conviction. 

FAQs

What does a Florida FR-44 cost?

A Florida FR-44 form features two associated costs. The filing fee for an FR-44 costs $50 or less, but the insurance rate increase is much higher. The average annual cost for DUI FR-44 insurance is $1,790, but your rate may differ. An FR-44 also requires higher liability limits for car insurance and a fee of $150 to $500 for license reinstatement.

What does a Florida SR-22 cost?

A Florida SR-22 certificate costs $15 to $25 in filing fees. After a driver buys an SR-22, their insurer increases their premium rates based on the traffic violation. Speeding tickets may have an increase of 17% to 20%, while DUI convictions cause rate increases of 46% or more.

What is the difference between FR44 and SR-22 Insurance in Florida?

The FR-44 requires higher liability coverage limits of 100/30/20 compared to SR-22’s coverage requirements of 10/20/10. The FR-44 is for serious traffic violations, including a DUI or DWI in Florida. An SR-22 form is for repeat traffic offenses, driving while uninsured, and missed child support payments. A DWI or DUI conviction requires an FR-44 and an SR-22 in Florida.

What is the cost of SR-22 insurance in Florida?

SR-22 insurance in Florida costs $15 to $25 for the filing fee and an average of $1,790 per year in insurance premiums. Individual costs vary by carrier and driver age, gender, location, and driving offense.

How long does an SR-22 last in Florida?

An SR-22 certificate lasts a minimum of three years. The state may require an SR-22 for longer if a driver has several traffic violations.

How long does an FR-44 last in Florida?

Florida requires an FR-44 for at least three years. However, the state bases the FR-44’s mandated period on the driver’s offenses and may require FR-44 for more than three years.

Compare SR-22 insurance in Florida 

SR-22 insurance is necessary after serious traffic violations and comes with increased increase rates. If you have a DUI or DWI, at-fault accident, or other offenses, you may need SR-22 insurance. 

While your current insurance provider may offer SR-22 certificates, comparing insurance quotes could save you hundreds of dollars each year. We provide an easy way to compare various insurance company rates and find the best for your needs. Start comparing rate quotes online today.