2023 Guide For SR-22 Insurance In Texas


WRITTEN BY: Julia Matseikovich

UPDATED: DECEMBER 05, 2022 | 2 MIN READ

Texas drivers with high-risk violations such as DWI/DUI or reckless driving require an SR-22 form. The form is filed through your insurance provider to prove you meet the minimum insurance requirements in Texas. SR-22 insurance has the same requirement as a standard car insurance policy but will likely cost more.

What you need to know about SR-22s

You must purchase SR-22 insurance in Texas if you have traffic violations on your driving record. If you lose your license, you must also have an SR-22 certificate. The following situations require having SR-22 insurance: 

  • Getting convicted of driving uninsured
  • Getting charged with reckless driving
  • Having multiple traffic violations or accidents on your record
  • Applying for a hardship or probationary permit
  • Getting charged with reckless or negligent driving
  • Applying to reinstate driving privileges after a license suspension

Texas drivers who file an SR-22 form only have a limited time to apply; you risk losing your license if you don’t have an SR-22 on file by the deadline.

How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Texas?

An SR-22 insurance policy costs more than your standard auto insurance due to the violations on your record that require an SR-22 filing. Texas insurance providers determine the SR-22 rates using different methods. USAA offers the lowest rate at $824 yearly. The most expensive car insurance provider is Allstate, at $3,196 annually.

CompanyAvg. Cost per Month With an SR-22 & DUIAvg. Cost Increase After a DUI
Farmers$62575%
USAA$82570%
Esurance$66075%
GEICO$1,80575%
Allstate$3,200500%

When are you required to get SR-22 certificate?

SR-22 insurance requirements vary from state to state. Depending on your traffic violations in Texas, you might need an SR-22 certificate. These driving violations require an SR-22 filing:

  • Reckless driving
  • DUI/DWI
  • Driving with a suspended or expired license
  • Driving uninsured

Minor violations typically don’t need SR-22 coverage. Texas drivers needing SR-22 insurance should shop around to ensure they get the best rates possible.

In Texas, SR-22 coverage requires you to meet the minimum car insurance requirements. These include:

  • $30,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $60,000 bodily injury liability per accident    
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

How long do you have to carry an SR-22 in Texas?

The length of time that you need the SR-22 certificate varies from state to state. The type of violation you have on your driving history is also a factor insurance providers take into consideration. In Texas, you’re required to keep your SR-22 certificate for three years. During that time, you’re not able to have any lapses in coverage.

How a DUI impacts your car insurance rates

A DUI offense in Texas increases your yearly auto insurance premium by roughly $762. That’s 44% less than the national average rate increases after a DUI/DWI.

Driving without insurance

Driving uninsured in Texas is illegal, and you must carry proof of insurance when driving. If a police officer pulls you over, you must show the following forms of identification: a Texas vehicle registration, a driver’s license, and proof of auto insurance. If you’re caught driving uninsured, you face fines between $925 and $1,750.

Non-owner insurance in Texas

If you don’t have a car, non-owner SR-22 insurance is the cheapest and most convenient coverage for Texas drivers. If you borrow a friend’s car or regularly rent vehicles, you must file an SR-22 form.

Non-owner car insurance is more affordable than standard car insurance. If you don’t own a vehicle, it allows you to save money.

The cost of non-owner auto insurance in Texas is $624 yearly. It might vary in price depending on the insurance company you choose. The cheapest non-owner SR-22 insurance is with State Farm at $359 yearly. The second option is USAA at $375 yearly, but it’s only available to military members and their families.

How to get SR-22 insurance in Texas

To get SR-22 insurance in Texas, you must contact your insurance provider. They file it on your behalf through the Texas DMV. American Family, Safeco, USAA, GEICO, and Progressive are some companies selling car insurance and offering SR-22 certificates. SR-22 insurance is more expensive than standard auto insurance due to the violations you have on your driving record.

FAQs

Can I cancel my car insurance after I get my license back?

You must have your SR-22 insurance for three years to drive a motor vehicle legally in Texas. You must have at least the minimum liability insurance coverage during that period. After three years, you’re not required to have insurance if you’re not driving.

Is SR-22 expensive in Texas?

SR-22 insurance in Texas is more expensive than standard car insurance. The average cost of minimum SR-22 auto insurance coverage after a DUI is $988 yearly. On average, car insurance without an SR-22 form is $643. 

What Texas drivers need an SR-22?

Texas drivers must have an SR-22 form if they’ve committed a serious offense such as reckless driving or DUI. It’s not separate from standard auto insurance. Instead, it’s a form insurers file on your behalf. You must prove financial responsibility to the Texas DMV to show you have the minimum amount of liability insurance.

How can I get my Texas driver’s license reinstated?

Once you have an SR-22 filing, you submit it and pay a $100 reinstatement fee to the Texas Department of Public Safety. Depending on the infraction’s severity, further requirements might result in the suspension of your license.

How much does an SR-22 certificate increase my insurance?

An SR-22 certificate works as proof of financial responsibility required by the Texas DMV after your driver’s license has been suspended or after a major violation. Your auto insurance rate increases by an average of $993 annually.

Compare SR-22 insurance in Texas

Purchasing Texas SR-22 car insurance through a reputable auto insurance carrier is simple. Ensuring you have bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability is essential. Obtaining car insurance quotes from insurance carriers has never been easier.

If you’re ready to get the cheapest auto insurance in Texas, comparing rates by calling and getting different quotes is important. We have a helpful tool to find the best car insurance.